Author Topic: IDP on GL  (Read 427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • FAN REACTION: +16/-7
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
IDP on GL
« on: February 28, 2022, 02:35:51 PM »
Let's get back to some rules questions.

A 2/G at the 3.  TE A80 is covered.  At the snap, A80 chip blocks B83 on his outside shoulder and then peels to the outside to create a traffic jam (not a pick, specifically, just create confusion and congestion) as A80 is running a slant route to the middle back of the end zone.  Ball is caught by A82 in the end zone.

Same scenario, but we're only concerned with guard A72, who advances to attempt a second level block several yards in the EZ. 

Same scenarios, ball is on the 1 yard line.

Should any of these situations result in an IDP call?

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 2684
  • FAN REACTION: +126/-122
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: IDP on GL
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2022, 09:58:31 AM »
Let's get back to some rules questions.

A 2/G at the 3.  TE A80 is covered.  At the snap, A80 chip blocks B83 on his outside shoulder and then peels to the outside to create a traffic jam (not a pick, specifically, just create confusion and congestion) as A80 is running a slant route to the middle back of the end zone.  Ball is caught by A82 in the end zone.
Don't really know what a 'chip' block is, but if A80's contact with B83 is within one yard of the NZ, and the contact does not continue into the end zone, then there is no issue with offensive pass interference. On the other hand, if his contact begins beyond the B-2, or continues beyond the goal line (being 3 yards beyond the NZ), then you'll have offensive pass interference, if a legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone is thrown.
With regard to ineligible downfield, if A80 moves beyond the goal line (being 3 yards beyond the NZ), then, yeah, you've got ineligible downfield (with or without any contact with an opponent). The LOS guys have got to know who is covered, and pick this up. This would be an appropriate use of the O2O (Bill, number 80 on my side is covered and ineligible).


Same scenario, but we're only concerned with guard A72, who advances to attempt a second level block several yards in the EZ. 
If he is "...several yards in the EZ...", then A72 is guilty of ineligible downfield (since the previous spot is the B-3). If he makes no contact with an opponent, then no issue of offensive pass interference.

Same scenarios, ball is on the 1 yard line.
No differences. You just don't have a conveniently placed goal line to demark the limits for ineligibles being legally downfield.

Should any of these situations result in an IDP call?