Author Topic: S/B 2022 Championship Week Quiz  (Read 326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 3034
  • FAN REACTION: +143/-137
  • The rules are there if you need them.
S/B 2022 Championship Week Quiz
« on: December 01, 2022, 09:23:55 PM »
Catch me.

Champ Week

1. 4/8 @ A-48. From a scrimmage kick formation, A32 punts the ball to the B-7 where it hits B25 on the leg. As the ball rolls along the ground, B25 then kicks it at the B-4 to prevent Team A from recovering. The ball bounces into Team Bs end zone and over the end line.
RULING:
B, free kick, B-20, free kick timing (25), OR, B, 1/10, B-2, snap (25).
The natural result of the down is a safety, due to the kicking of the ball by B25 that causes the ball to travel out of bounds behind Bs goal line; 2 points for A, with a free kick by B from the B-20 to follow.
OR,
Team A accepts the penalty for the foul for illegally kicking the ball by B25, which is penalized the distance to the goal from the spot of the foul (B-4), taking the ball to the B-2, where Team B will have 1/10.


2. 3/10 @ 50. Team A is in an illegal formation at the snap. A12s forward pass is intercepted by B21 at the B-25, who advances ten yards and is tackled. B55 blocks A87 below the waist at the B-30 during B21s run.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-15, snap (25).
Because Team B was free of foul when they gained possession, they may invoke the clean hands provision, and keep the ball by declining the penalty for Team As illegal formation foul. Team A would then accept the 15-yard penalty for Team Bs foul for illegal blocking below the waist which would be penalized from the spot of the foul, where Team B will have 1/10.
Note: Team B could accept offsetting fouls and have the down repeated, but that would be unlikely.


3. 4/10 @ A-40. A90 punts from scrimmage kick formation and B44 catches the kick at the B-15. B44 returns the kick back to the B-29 and during the kick A80 is guilty of a personal foul at the 50.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-44, snap (25).
The 15-yard penalty for A80s personal foul may be penalized at the spot where the dead-ball belongs to Team B (B-29), taking the ball to the B-44, where Team B will have 1/10.


4. 4/10 @ A-40. A90 punts from scrimmage kick formation and B44 muffs the kick at the B-15 and the ball rolls back to B-5 where A88 dives on the ball and recovers it while down. During the kick A80 is guilty of a personal foul at the 50.
RULING:
A, 4/25, A-25, snap (25).
The 15-yard penalty for A80s personal foul can only be penalized at the previous spot, with the down repeated, since it occurred during the kick play portion of the down, and Team B was NOT in possession at the dead-ball spot.


5. 2/10 @ A-35. A12 throws an illegal forward pass from beyond the line at the A-37 and Team B was in the neutral zone at the snap. B23 intercepts the pass at the 50 and B10 clips on the return at the A-30. B23 is tackled in the field of play at the A-20.
RULING:
A, 2/10, A-35, ready (25).
Because Team B committed a foul (offside) before gaining possession, all fouls offset, and the down is repeated at the previous spot. The game clock will start on the referees signal, since the down ended with the ball inbounds, and Team B will not next snap the ball.


6. 4/15 @ A-2. Punter A90 lines up with his left heel touching the end line at the snap and receives the ball while standing on his end line. B20 is lined up offside at the snap. A90s punt is fair caught by B44 at the A-35.
RULING:
A, 4/15, A-2, snap (25).
Because Team B committed a foul (offside) before gaining possession, their foul is offset by A90s foul for being out of bounds at the snap. The down is over when A90 receives the snap, since he is touching the ground out of bounds when he receives the snap, and the down is repeated at the previous spot.

I dispute the 'answer' ruling that the game clock should start on the "ready." 6-3-2-c governs this, and trumps administrative stoppages. The game clock should start on the snap, as after any down that is repeated following any type of apparent score.

7. 4/15 @ A-2. Punter A90 lines up with his left heel touching the end line at the snap and receives the ball while standing on his end line. A90s punt is fair caught by B44 at the A-35.
RULING:
B, 1/10, A-30, snap (25).
The 5-yard penalty for A90s foul for being out of bounds at the snap may be enforced at the spot where the dead-ball belongs to Team B (A-35), taking the ball to the A-30, where Team B will have 1/10.

Messed this one up.
Since A90 was touching the ground OB when he received the snap, the ball is dead, and the natural result of this down is a safety, 2 points for Team B, with a free kick by Team A from the A-20 to follow. Alternatively, Team B could elect to enforce the 5-yard (1/2 the distance) penalty for A90 being out of bounds at the snap, resulting in a repeat of 4th down by Team A from the A-1. In both cases, the game clock will start on the snap, due to the apparent score (safety) by Team B (with concurrence from S-B; curious, since they say 'ready' on play 6).


8. 1/10 @ B-40. A12s legal forward pass is intercepted by B17 at the B-25. During the return, B17 taunts pursuing A55 at the A-11 before scoring a touchdown. After B17 crosses the goal line, he is shoved hard to the ground by A55 five yards into the end zone.
RULING:
B,1/10, A-13, snap (25).
The 15-yard penalty for B17s live-ball unsportsmanlike conduct foul for taunting cancels the score, and is penalized from the spot of the foul, taking the ball to the A-26. The 15-yard penalty for A55s dead-ball personal foul is the penalized the distance to As goal line, taking the ball to the A-13, where Team B will have 1/10.

« Last Edit: December 05, 2022, 02:03:05 PM by ElvisLives »

Offline bctgp

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • FAN REACTION: +6/-10
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: S/B 2022 Championship Week Quiz
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2022, 02:01:17 PM »
For #7 - Team B can decline the team A foul and accept the result of the play which was actually a safety. However, if they want to accept the Team A foul since the play is dead once the snap is possessed by the punter who is OOB the only enforcement option would be previous spot.

For the life of me I've never understood why this is a Team A foul. Seems like it should just kill the play it's a safety when were talking about the end-line scenario.  Other than AR 10-1-4-VII there's nothing I could find that this is a team A foul. In the list of Fouls in the rule book it only mentions defensive players OOB at the snap. One of those weird oddities about the rules I guess.


« Last Edit: December 02, 2022, 02:06:20 PM by bctgp »

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 3034
  • FAN REACTION: +143/-137
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: S/B 2022 Championship Week Quiz
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2022, 02:31:27 PM »
For #7 - Team B can decline the team A foul and accept the result of the play which was actually a safety. However, if they want to accept the Team A foul since the play is dead once the snap is possessed by the punter who is OOB the only enforcement option would be previous spot.

For the life of me I've never understood why this is a Team A foul. Seems like it should just kill the play it's a safety when were talking about the end-line scenario.  Other than AR 10-1-4-VII there's nothing I could find that this is a team A foul. In the list of Fouls in the rule book it only mentions defensive players OOB at the snap. One of those weird oddities about the rules I guess.

A) Duh.  ::) What the H was I thinking? Out of bounds behind the goal from the snap = safety, 2 points for B. If I was standing there on the end line observing that, and saw him OB and touching the ball, I have no doubt in my mind I would stop action, and rule that the natural result of the down is a safety.
b) The fact that A90 is out of bounds at the snap is a foul (Offensive Team Requirements at the Snap 7-1-4-a-1), and it is a live-ball foul per the penalty statement at the end of the Article (everything from a. thru c.). The down is over when A90 touches the ball while still OB. Team B 'could' accept the penalty and repeat the down, if they wanted to. That would be a time & score thing for the HC to choose.

But, in reality, I would try VERY HARD not to let that happen. As I have done in the past, I would be telling A90 to get off the end line, and to watch his feet and not step on the end line.

Offline dammitbobby

  • *
  • Posts: 941
  • FAN REACTION: +20/-7
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Re: S/B 2022 Championship Week Quiz
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2022, 03:04:01 PM »
For the life of me I've never understood why this is a Team A foul.

While it doesn't seem obvious in this particular situation, from a rules perspective, there's no difference between a receiver on the sideline lined up with the edge of his foot 1" OOB, and a receiver completely OOB with the edge of his foot 1" inbounds.

I would guess some enterprising young coach tried this (or something similar), which led to it being a requirement for all Team A players to be inbounds.