Author Topic: Pre-Game Conference  (Read 4829 times)

Offline HLTN

• FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Pre-Game Conference
« on: July 25, 2017, 02:03:54 AM »
I'm in my third year as a full time R.  I have a pretty good pregame that covers almost everything.  But, as we all know, there are some nights we may arrive at the game site a little later than expected.  In order to plan for these, I would like to prepare a shortened version.  But, I am having a bit of trouble cutting things out. 
I would like some opinions of some topics that MUST be covered.
Thanks in advance.

Offline ref4e

• FAN REACTION: +2/-2
  • An outstanding official usually doesn't stand out
Re: Pre-Game Conference
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 07:22:30 AM »
IMO, you must keep a detailed coverage of free and scrimmage kick responsibilities in your shortened version.   

If anything can go wrong in a game, it will generally do so on a kick play.

Offline FLAHL

• FAN REACTION: +52/-9
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2017, 12:03:25 PM »
Agree with ref - if you have to shorten it, there's probably less of a need to talk about running plays or passing plays.  Also, the last thing we talk about before we take the field every week is force.  If the ball ends up in either end zone - how did it get there, who recovered, and what is the result of the play.

Offline Ralph Damren

• FAN REACTION: +864/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2017, 02:39:31 PM »
IMHO : "Let ME worry about the rules and US worry about the coverage...." .

As we hurriedly discus positions/coverage , "what if"  questions will pop-up and can be quickly answered. Is it as good as a full pre-game - NO - but it's much better than : " >:( you guys know what to do, now don't screw it up  >:( ".

Offline AlUpstateNY

• FAN REACTION: +341/-919
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2017, 03:45:24 PM »