Author Topic: Scrimmage Kick questions  (Read 5346 times)

Offline dammitbobby

• FAN REACTION: +27/-8
  • I know just enough to be dangerous...
Scrimmage Kick questions
« on: January 04, 2021, 09:40:30 AM »
Need some help with these... from an NCAA rules email study group.  Show/explain to me what I didn't get correct (this is my first attempt at answering)

1)   A4/10@B17. Second possession, of the first overtime period, A is trailing by 3. A2s FG attempt is blocked behind the LOS and subsequently crosses the NZ. The ball is rolling near the B3 when A66 bats the ball into the EZ, and A99 jumps on the ball in the EZ.

Score is cancelled (3-1-3-g-2)
Illegal bat, rule 4-1-c (‘No player shall bat other loose balls forward in the field of play…’) Side question - since A66 added new impetus to the ball, does that constitute possession, as 3-1-3-g says that penalties after a change in possession are declined by rule?

If not declined by rule (see question above), if B accepts the penalty, A would repeat 4th down from the B27.  If they decline, B's ball 1/10 at A25.

If this were regular time, not OT: 
Illegal bat, rule 4-1-c (‘No player shall bat other loose balls forward in the field of play…’)
10 yard penalty, no loss of down since the ball was beyond the LOS (Exception in penalty statement:  No loss of down if the foul occurs when a legal scrimmage kick is beyond the neutral zone)
If B declines the penalty, A repeats 4th down at B27.  If B accepts, B’s ball 1/10 on B13.

2)   A4/5@A-30. A1s punt is blocked at the A-21 by B88 who subsequently crashes into the A1s plant leg. The ball is muffed by B5 at the A-32 and then recovered by A55 at the A-27, A55 runs to the A-33 where he fumbles. Grounded A22 recovers the fumble at the A40. Ruling - correct mechanics?