Author Topic: Rules Question?  (Read 348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-5
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Rules Question?
« on: November 27, 2023, 12:44:51 PM »
I'm a NFHS guy so I'm having trouble understanding a play that happened in the Iron Bowl Saturday. Auburn shifts three guys and Alabama jumps in the NZ then while all three are still in motion Auburn snaps and Alabama is flagged for a NZ infraction. No illegal shift! Help me to understand this one please.

Online Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • FAN REACTION: +52/-9
Re: Rules Question?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2023, 12:55:54 PM »
No rules issue, just a miss. The wing probably got caught up in the defense being in the neutral zone and blanked on the shift. Somebody should have helped him out. Anybody on the crew should have spoken up and said something.

Offline sczeebra

  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-5
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Rules Question?
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2023, 02:49:33 PM »
Then what good are the two guys in the backfield?