Football Officiating > National Federation Discussion

Clarity about "Loose Ball" please.

(1/1)

juxone:
"You can have multiple plays per down.
You can only have 1 loose ball play per down and when it occurs it's always the first play.
You can have multiple running plays per down." From reading an earlier thread.

Rule 2-1-3

 And SECTION 33 PLAYS – FOR PENALTY ENFORCEMENT

if A8 receives a shotgun snap and begins to roll out to his right where he stops and from behind NZ neutral zone and throws a backward pass to A35 who then throws a legal forward that falls incomplete. Is the whole play a loose ball play so a live-ball foul would be from the previous spot? OR did the loose ball play end with A35 catching the backward pass or when the pass fell incomplete.

HLinNC:
Its all one loose ball play so previous spot enforcement for a foul at any point except for a foul committed behind the basic spot (ABO) such as a hold by A.

Ralph Damren:
The loose ball play ended with the play, an incomplete pass. Remember, too, that a loose ball play has to occur behind the LOS...a fumble behind the LOS is a loose ball play...a fumble beyond the LOS is the end of a running play, of which you can have several.

The basic spot for a loose ball play is the previous spot, BUT the enforcement spot could be behind that if the all-but-one applies. Example : QB throws an incomplete pass, while teammate is holding 10 yards behind LOS. Enforcement spot is spot of foul.

juxone:

--- Quote from: Ralph Damren on October 13, 2021, 06:41:48 AM ---The loose ball play ended with the play, an incomplete pass. Remember, too, that a loose ball play has to occur behind the LOS...a fumble behind the LOS is a loose ball play...a fumble beyond the LOS is the end of a running play, of which you can have several.

The basic spot for a loose ball play is the previous spot, BUT the enforcement spot could be behind that if the all-but-one applies. Example : QB throws an incomplete pass, while teammate is holding 10 yards behind LOS. Enforcement spot is spot of foul.

--- End quote ---

I think that is where my misunderstanding was coming from..   in the example given IF the pass hand been caught and the receiver immediately tossed the ball back to another teammate, the "Loose Ball" play ended with the reception and the pitch backward was now a running play??

PABJNR:
Yes and that is why a bean bag needs to be down at the spot of the pitch because if a foul occurs after possession of the pass and prior to pitch the basic spot is the end of the related run, marked by bean bag.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Navigation

[0] Message Index

Go to full version