Author Topic: Question for you all  (Read 4500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bugolathe

  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-11
  • KSHSAA/Kansas
Question for you all
« on: February 14, 2012, 10:32:23 PM »
Anybody know the answer to this question using NF rules?  Is this question in the casebook somewhere?

After a missed shot from A1, A2 saves the ball from going out of bounds on the sideline and throws the ball into the backcourt where A3 is the first to touch the ball.  What do you have?

Assuming A2 is in the frontcourt when he touches the ball, I beleive you have a backcourt violation. 

Thanks in advance for any help.
 

Offline Rulesman

  • Past Keeper of the Keys
  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +65535/-2
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 08:29:42 AM »
Assuming A2 possessed the ball, yes, it would be a backcourt violation. There would not be a violation if all A2 did was bat the loose ball from a missed shot into the backcourt. Possession is the key word.
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 08:37:33 AM »
Agree with Rulesman. Team control has ended on the try. If A2's throw is considered to have been possession then Team and Player control was established in A2. In that case, Team A was the first to touch the ball in the front court and the first to touch it in the backcourt with them in Team Control and you would have a backcourt violation.

Offline APG

  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2012, 11:42:25 AM »
If it's a bat, then it's nothing. If it's a throw, then backcourt violation as team/player control has been established.

Offline Bugolathe

  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-11
  • KSHSAA/Kansas
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2012, 09:21:07 AM »
This question came from a quiz and we were all correct.  According to the answers from the quiz, just the fact that A2 changed the direction of the ball, that established team control.
Thanks for the help.

Offline Rulesman

  • Past Keeper of the Keys
  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +65535/-2
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2012, 09:59:29 AM »
This question came from a quiz and we were all correct.  According to the answers from the quiz, just the fact that A2 changed the direction of the ball, that established team control.
Thanks for the help.
If that's the case, it was a poorly written question - and even a worse answer. "Changing the direction of the ball" does not constitute possession.
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline APG

  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2012, 07:39:56 PM »
This question came from a quiz and we were all correct.  According to the answers from the quiz, just the fact that A2 changed the direction of the ball, that established team control.
Thanks for the help.

That's not what was said in the thread, and I would disagree with that interpretation. If he throws the ball, that could be considered possession. A simple bat though is not possession.

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: Question for you all
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2012, 09:08:21 AM »
If that's the case, it was a poorly written question - and even a worse answer. "Changing the direction of the ball" does not constitute possession.

No kidding...what a terrible question.