Author Topic: Clarification on helmet rule wanted  (Read 3666 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


  • Guest
Clarification on helmet rule wanted
« on: June 03, 2012, 07:42:09 AM »
Hey, canucks ... I've been trying to receive some clarification on the new helmet rule, specifically the one that issues a 10yard penalty for participating in a play (as a non-runner) without a helmet, if the lid comes off.

a) I'm assuming the signal is an illegal equipment signal.
b) I'm assuming the penalty is applied as a dead-ball foul
This is my big one:
c) Is the infraction additive in terms of application in double/dual foul situations (ie: treated like an OC?)


  • Guest
Re: Clarification on helmet rule wanted
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2012, 12:23:14 PM »
It's considered a OC foul with the appropriate signal applied.
N.B. This is applied to a player participating in the play after loss of their own helmet.

If a player contacts another player who does not have a helmet this is a different situation and is considered a UR foul.