1
NCAA Discussion / Team A player OB voluntarily
« Last post by ElvisLives on Today at 07:28:05 PM »Interesting action during the Chiefs/Bengals game, that points out another difference between NFL and NCAA rules. On a punt by the Bengals in the first period, a Bengals player went out of bounds. Not sure if he went OB voluntarily, or if he was forced out. Regardless, he ran a long way while OB (and not being contacted). He then returned inbounds and stood over the still slightly moving ball, then he picked up the ball, where the ball was declared dead and the down ended. The Bengals were penalized 5 yards at the dead-ball spot, 1/10 for KC. The announcers asked Steratore about that, and Steratore explained that the Bengals were penalized for “Illegal Touching,” since he was the first Team A player to touch the ball.
In an NCAA game, touching of the ball by such a Team A player, is not a foul. If the ball has not been touched by Team B, yes, it is illegal touching, but that is a ‘violation,’ not a foul - no distance/down penalty. A Team A player that is voluntarily OB and then returns inbounds, commits a foul for an “illegal return,” (5 yards, previous spot, or spot where dead-ball belongs to B) regardless of any action he takes once he is back inbounds. He may block any opponent (by legal means). He may tackle a ball carrier. The rules governing illegal touching of a kicked ball apply equally to him as any other Team A player, but such action would be a violation, as defined, not a foul.
Let’s don’t get the NFL action confused with action using NCAA rules.
In an NCAA game, touching of the ball by such a Team A player, is not a foul. If the ball has not been touched by Team B, yes, it is illegal touching, but that is a ‘violation,’ not a foul - no distance/down penalty. A Team A player that is voluntarily OB and then returns inbounds, commits a foul for an “illegal return,” (5 yards, previous spot, or spot where dead-ball belongs to B) regardless of any action he takes once he is back inbounds. He may block any opponent (by legal means). He may tackle a ball carrier. The rules governing illegal touching of a kicked ball apply equally to him as any other Team A player, but such action would be a violation, as defined, not a foul.
Let’s don’t get the NFL action confused with action using NCAA rules.