Author Topic: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......  (Read 1341 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 2684
  • FAN REACTION: +126/-122
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #25 on: June 01, 2022, 08:11:56 AM »
Try this one, guys. Actually occurred a few years ago in a JV game up here......

SCENE : 4th & 10 @ A's 40, when:

(1) K1 punts;
(2) kick blocked by R1;
(3) R2 scoops up ball and begins to advance;
(4) R2 is tackled @ K'20 & fumbles;
(5) K1 retrieves fumble and kicks again;
(6) 'kick' goes OOB @ K's 45.

USING CURRENT RULES, YOU MAKE THE CALL  ^good ^no ^TD  ^talk z^ ^flag ^flag ^flag ^flag ^flag

Not offering a ruling, just want to say, "Dumb ---!" But then, maybe an NFHS ruling will surprise me.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4002
  • FAN REACTION: +792/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #26 on: June 01, 2022, 08:35:30 AM »
Not offering a ruling, just want to say, "Dumb ---!" But then, maybe an NFHS ruling will surprise me.
K1 may have thought he was in the CFL....then again, there may be a reason that K1 is on the junior varsity  ;D

Online CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2398
  • FAN REACTION: +96/-56
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #27 on: June 01, 2022, 09:45:15 AM »
Not offering a ruling, just want to say, "Dumb ---!" But then, maybe an NFHS ruling will surprise me.

Series for K ended when R recovered. K has created a fumble by illegally kicking a ball in his possession. If penalty is accepted, mark off 10 from the spot of the foul, 1st and 10 K. If penalty is declined, K ball at the 45, 1st and 10.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 2684
  • FAN REACTION: +126/-122
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #28 on: June 01, 2022, 10:20:17 AM »
Series for K ended when R recovered. K has created a fumble by illegally kicking a ball in his possession. If penalty is accepted, mark off 10 from the spot of the foul, 1st and 10 K. If penalty is declined, K ball at the 45, 1st and 10.

Again, alignment between rules sets. Good. So, yeah...dumb ---. Coach needs to coach better.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4002
  • FAN REACTION: +792/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #29 on: June 01, 2022, 10:41:53 AM »
Series for K ended when R recovered. K has created a fumble by illegally kicking a ball in his possession. If penalty is accepted, mark off 10 from the spot of the foul, 1st and 10 K. If penalty is declined, K ball at the 45, 1st and 10.
Calhoun again nailed it  aWaRd

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 1043
  • FAN REACTION: +60/-6
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #30 on: June 01, 2022, 07:16:39 PM »
No, the previous spot was the A-3 (K-3), so the ball did, ultimately, cross the NZ.

I apparently can't read...

However, I still maintain that crossing the NZ is irrelevant to the ruling.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 2684
  • FAN REACTION: +126/-122
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #31 on: June 01, 2022, 08:23:13 PM »
I apparently can't read...

However, I still maintain that crossing the NZ is irrelevant to the ruling.

Can’t speak for NFHS, but it certainly is relevant for NCAA. If the scrimmage kick doesn’t cross the NZ, then the “tack on” enforcement option doesn’t apply.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4002
  • FAN REACTION: +792/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #32 on: June 02, 2022, 10:20:04 AM »
Can’t speak for NFHS, but it certainly is relevant for NCAA. If the scrimmage kick doesn’t cross the NZ, then the “tack on” enforcement option doesn’t apply.
NFHS doesn't restrict tack-on's to only kicks beyond the NZ. I probably should have posted this topic on NFHS section to clarify :-X.

Online CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2398
  • FAN REACTION: +96/-56
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #33 on: June 02, 2022, 10:59:40 AM »
I apparently can't read...

However, I still maintain that crossing the NZ is irrelevant to the ruling.

Yes, you are correct. Once the ball goes out of bounds it belongs to R, no matter if it's behind or beyond..  That was my bad.

Online CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2398
  • FAN REACTION: +96/-56
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #34 on: June 02, 2022, 11:02:13 AM »
Can’t speak for NFHS, but it certainly is relevant for NCAA. If the scrimmage kick doesn’t cross the NZ, then the “tack on” enforcement option doesn’t apply.

In FED, it may or may not be important. If the loose ball goes OOB or is recovered by R, it belongs to R, so tack on applies. If K recovers the kick behind or beyond, the tack on doesn't apply.

Online Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 875
  • FAN REACTION: +51/-9
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #35 on: June 03, 2022, 05:28:11 PM »
Again, alignment between rules sets. Good. So, yeah...dumb ---. Coach needs to coach better.

Assuming by "kicks it again" Ralph means he punted the ball, I disagree. NCAA would not be the same here. This is a return kick because it was a scrimmage kick made after a change of possession. Rather than being a 10 yard penalty and the ball remaining live, the ball is dead immediately and it is only a 5 yard penalty from the spot of the kick. Because there was a change of team possession during the down and A had the ball legally at the end of the down, they will get a new series 1st and 10, 5 yards from where the kick occurred.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 2684
  • FAN REACTION: +126/-122
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Don't kick yourself if you kick a kick play......
« Reply #36 on: June 03, 2022, 06:30:25 PM »
Assuming by "kicks it again" Ralph means he punted the ball, I disagree. NCAA would not be the same here. This is a return kick because it was a scrimmage kick made after a change of possession. Rather than being a 10 yard penalty and the ball remaining live, the ball is dead immediately and it is only a 5 yard penalty from the spot of the kick. Because there was a change of team possession during the down and A had the ball legally at the end of the down, they will get a new series 1st and 10, 5 yards from where the kick occurred.

Yep. I botched that one. Must have been typing in my sleep (or some other fake excuse). Thanks for the correction, Legacy.