Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10
1
National Federation Discussion / Re: Enforcement
« Last post by Ralph Damren on Today at 07:22:26 AM »
The new rule allows the offended team to request that the clock starts on the snap IF it would start on the ready. If the clock is scheduled to start on the snap there is no option.
2
Thinking about this one.  If the offended team of the live ball foul chooses not to start on the snap, the offended team of the dead ball foul still has the option to start on the snap, correct?
IMHO, no. In this situation , only the offended team of the live ball foul would have that choice. If the only foul on the play was a dead ball foul (encroachment, false start, etc) that choice would be available.
3
National Federation Discussion / Re: Enforcement
« Last post by Stinterp on Today at 07:05:06 AM »
The new rule does not allow the offended team the option to start the clock on the ready,  just on the snap.
5

In the last two minutes of either half, one team has an accepted live ball foul while the other team has a dead ball foul. The offended team of the live ball foul has the option to start on the snap.


Thinking about this one.  If the offended team of the live ball foul chooses not to start on the snap, the offended team of the dead ball foul still has the option to start on the snap, correct?
6
NCAA Discussion / Re: Offensive lineman as eligible receiver
« Last post by ElvisLives on Yesterday at 05:30:35 PM »
Just a little add,
also if the forward pass is touched by an official.

Good add. 
There was a time, though, when that language was not in the rule.  Haven't personally seen it happen, but it must have.
7
NCAA Discussion / Re: Offensive lineman as eligible receiver
« Last post by ElvisLives on Yesterday at 05:25:44 PM »
Why did he lose a down?

Perhaps this was an event that occurred in the 'good 'ol days,' before replay, before targeting, and when illegal touching by an originally ineligible player was 5 yards plus LOD. Let's hope so, anyway. ;)
8
National Federation Discussion / Re: Enforcement
« Last post by KWH on Yesterday at 04:34:52 PM »
Under the new Rule, wouldn't B have the option of having the clock starting on the ready rather than first legal touching of the free kick

No!
There is no Snap involved with a FREE KICK so the new rule is not applicable in this situation.
Restated, There is NEVER a situation in NFHS where the clock starts on the Ready for Play for a FREE KICK
Exception: States with running clock rules may trump this new rule.
9
NCAA Discussion / Re: Offensive lineman as eligible receiver
« Last post by blindtxzebra on Yesterday at 04:29:57 PM »
There are two types of ineligibility: Position & Number


If a player wearing a legal number lines up in a position that makes him ineligible ex. TE (#88) covered up by WR (#89). While 88 is wearing a legal number he is ineligible by position.


If a payer wearing an restricted number (50-79) in a position that would be eligible ex. FB (#55) lines up in backfield is ineligible by number.


All of this is really only relevant to forward passes.


Had a team that tried to run a screen pass by having the fullback (#55) catch a forward pass. Coach wasn't to happy to hear the differences of position and number eligibility as we were marching off 5yrds and he lost a down.

Why did he lose a down?
10
National Federation Discussion / Re: Enforcement
« Last post by Orin Robinson on Yesterday at 04:09:39 PM »
3-4-7 (NEW): Added a new option to the offended team to start the clock on the snap for an accepted penalty inside the last two minutes of either half.
Rationale: The committee added an option for the offended team on an accepted penalty inside the last two minutes of either half. The referee continues to have the authority to start or stop the clock if a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally.


So since there is no snap I don't think they have an option.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10