Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10
National Federation Discussion / Re: DPI or not?
« Last post by InsideTheStripes on Yesterday at 07:45:30 PM »
I've got nothing.
General Discussion / Re: Are officials ICs or Employees - NLRB weighs in
« Last post by Rulesman on Yesterday at 07:18:44 PM »
Yes - I am a teacher and occasionally work subvarsity games in my district.  When I do that, I don't get a game check, but have it rolled into my salary, meaning taxes, health, etc. are taken out, but it also contributes to my retirement. 

On the other hand I always joke with the AD about the worker's comp coming my way if I were to roll an ankle or sprain my knee while working a freshman game!
Really not a joke. IMO, you would be entitled to WC based on your description. Either you are an employee or you are an IC. You are one or the other. Your district canít have it both ways. Would be no different than if you fell down a flight of stairs in your school during school hours and rolled your ankle.
General Discussion / Re: High School Football Participation Down?
« Last post by The Roamin' Umpire on Yesterday at 05:25:07 PM »
Youth football numbers (and especially Pop Warner - we have a few other programs besides) are WAY down. Scholastic numbers are down, too, but it's hit and miss - some programs are up significantly, some have had to scrap a season here or there, and we have a number of merged teams. I think the only program that has gone away permanently in the last decade is the Catholic school that almost closed and let go of their long-time principal (and football coach) at about the same time.
National Federation Discussion / Re: DPI or not?
« Last post by The Roamin' Umpire on Yesterday at 05:21:31 PM »
Contact is definitely early. First angle made me think the receiver just played through the contact; second angle makes it clear there's a material restriction.  ^flag
National Federation Discussion / Re: The spot where the run ends