Author Topic: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).  (Read 4968 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-18
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Let's say A21 goes OOB and while OOB reaches back into the field of play and touches a live ball (like a pass in flight, or a fumble either in flight or grounded).

What if it's a B player?

Offline Brian26

  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-3
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2024, 02:27:05 PM »
Not 100% sure but I believe it's illegal participation in both

Offline lawdog

  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • FAN REACTION: +6/-25
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2024, 03:41:35 PM »
So the pass is going to the sideline and the receiver tries to catch it but steps on the white first, you want a penalty?  That's a garden variety dead ball incomplete pass.  IP is going out of bounds and then returning.  Don't try to create penalties to throw.  You'll never be any good in this job doing that. 

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-18
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2024, 03:50:59 PM »
So the pass is going to the sideline and the receiver tries to catch it but steps on the white first, you want a penalty?  That's a garden variety dead ball incomplete pass.  IP is going out of bounds and then returning.  Don't try to create penalties to throw.  You'll never be any good in this job doing that.
Who said I want to throw a penalty, or I'm creating a penalty?  Are you always rude or caught you on a bad day?

Offline Etref

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2332
  • FAN REACTION: +86/-28
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2024, 03:53:03 PM »
Let’s be nice!
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 1360
  • FAN REACTION: +76/-13
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2024, 04:19:13 PM »
A is illegally participating when he goes out of bounds and returns to the field of play (unless he was blocked out of bounds). If he remains OOB, then this doesn't apply.

Any player (A or B) is illegally participating if they *intentionally* go out of bounds and *intentionally* contact the ball (or a few other things in 9-6-2).

I don't see either case applying here by default. You'd have to rule on intent, which is going to be very case dependent. Without the intent, the ball simply becomes dead when it contacts the player who is out of bounds.

Offline CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 3044
  • FAN REACTION: +141/-1009
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2024, 05:40:58 PM »
Let's say A21 goes OOB and while OOB reaches back into the field of play and touches a live ball (like a pass in flight, or a fumble either in flight or grounded).

What if it's a B player?
It's an incomplete pass if it was a forward pass. If it's a fumble, it's the team who was in possession's ball at the spot of the touching.

Offline retiredumpire

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2024, 04:43:13 PM »
A is illegally participating when he goes out of bounds and returns to the field of play (unless he was blocked out of bounds). If he remains OOB, then this doesn't apply.

Any player (A or B) is illegally participating if they *intentionally* go out of bounds and *intentionally* contact the ball (or a few other things in 9-6-2).

I don't see either case applying here by default. You'd have to rule on intent, which is going to be very case dependent. Without the intent, the ball simply becomes dead when it contacts the player who is out of bounds.

What if kickoff is rolling along the sidelines, untouched, and R1 notices it will not go OOB by itself, so he plants one foot OOB and touches the ball...penalty on the kicking team for illegal kick OOB? Isn't that "intentional"?

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 1360
  • FAN REACTION: +76/-13
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2024, 06:01:49 PM »
What if kickoff is rolling along the sidelines, untouched, and R1 notices it will not go OOB by itself, so he plants one foot OOB and touches the ball...penalty on the kicking team for illegal kick OOB? Isn't that "intentional"?

That is not a penalty for a kick out of bounds, it's a penalty for illegal participation. R's illegal act caused the ball to go out of bounds, they should not be rewarded for that. Yes, I've seen the videos from college and NFL where they do that, but there's a reason why they don't do it anymore.

Offline GA Umpire

  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • FAN REACTION: +32/-3
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2024, 06:12:46 PM »
That is not a penalty for a kick out of bounds, it's a penalty for illegal participation. R's illegal act caused the ball to go out of bounds, they should not be rewarded for that. Yes, I've seen the videos from college and NFL where they do that, but there's a reason why they don't do it anymore.
Please see 6.1.9 Situation C.
It states in (b) that the ruling is the kicking team caused to ball to be oob.
This case play seems to address the issue in the OP.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4052
  • FAN REACTION: +106/-303
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2024, 07:58:35 AM »
Please see 6.1.9 Situation C.
It states in (b) that the ruling is the kicking team caused to ball to be oob.
This case play seems to address the issue in the OP.


6.1.9 - C is not on point here and has to do with a free kick muffed by K that then goes OB.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-18
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2024, 08:18:05 AM »

6.1.9 - C is not on point here and has to do with a free kick muffed by K that then goes OB.

6.1.9-C in the 2024 case book talks about R touching the ball, not K.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4052
  • FAN REACTION: +106/-303
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2024, 08:26:48 AM »
I stand corrected.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2024, 08:36:09 AM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Online Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4912
  • FAN REACTION: +872/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2024, 06:47:39 AM »
In 2000, we tweaked the FKOOB rule to read : "If the receiving team doesn't  touch a free kick BEFORE it goes out of bounds,it is a foul." My interp of that is : If the ball is still inbounds when touched by OOB R, it is dead by rule and R's ball at that spot. I perfer that over IP by R which would requirea re-kick.

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-18
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2024, 07:53:47 AM »
In 2000, we tweaked the FKOOB rule to read : "If the receiving team doesn't  touch a free kick BEFORE it goes out of bounds,it is a foul." My interp of that is : If the ball is still inbounds when touched by OOB R, it is dead by rule and R's ball at that spot. I perfer that over IP by R which would requirea re-kick.

Good morning Ralph.  So during a free kick, the old step out of bounds then touch the ball trick by R isn't a KOB?  I've heard differing opinions on how to handle this scenario.


Here's a Redding snippet:
When a receiving team player who is out of bounds is the first to touch a free kick, the kicking team has caused the ball to go oob. It does not matter if the ball is inside the plane of the sideline when it is touched.
Then there's an example describing the above and ruling is foul by team K for KOB.  Explanation then states - It is not a foul for a team R player to unintentionally go out of bounds.

So is Redding saying it would be a foul on R if he intentionally went OOB then touched the ball?  What rule(s) are in play here?

Thanks

Offline GA Umpire

  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • FAN REACTION: +32/-3
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2024, 03:51:04 PM »
In 2000, we tweaked the FKOOB rule to read : "If the receiving team doesn't  touch a free kick BEFORE it goes out of bounds,it is a foul." My interp of that is : If the ball is still inbounds when touched by OOB R, it is dead by rule and R's ball at that spot. I perfer that over IP by R which would requirea re-kick.
Ralph:
That is what I would want to rule. R's ball at the inbounds spot on the yard line where he touched it while oob.
Can you sponsor that rule change proposal?

Online Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4912
  • FAN REACTION: +872/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Can an out-of-bounds A player touch a live ball (while he's still OOB).
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2024, 05:42:34 AM »
Ralph:
That is what I would want to rule. R's ball at the inbounds spot on the yard line where he touched it while oob.
Can you sponsor that rule change proposal?
I sponsored it last year, but it was tabled in sub-committee. It will be discussed again this year with copies of Case plays and illustrations as back up. Some felt ut was an interpretation and didn't need a rule change.