Author Topic: NFHS Punt Play  (Read 1047 times)

Offline bdalyatwork

  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
NFHS Punt Play
« on: October 08, 2014, 01:16:33 PM »
Thanks in advance to all the regular posters for your input and assistance.

Here's one of my plays from a subvarsity game this past week.

K4-15@K5.  K Punts from its own EZ. Under a heavy rush K gets off a very short punt that is caught by R at the K25 and returned for an apparent TD. R runs into the kicker on the play. After the TD, R commits a DBPF by clobbering a K player near the GL.

I ruled 1st down for K at the K25.  I guess I just want to know if I did the right thing?


Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2233
  • FAN REACTION: +82/-12
Re: NFHS Punt Play
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 01:53:14 PM »
We're not enforcing running into a kicker as a PSK foul, since it didn't happen beyond the neutral zone.  Go to the previous spot, mark off 5 for the running, and mark off another 15 for the DBPF.  Since they're beyond the line to gain, they get a first down at the 25.  Well done!   pHiNzuP

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1240
  • FAN REACTION: +29/-44
Re: NFHS Punt Play
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 01:56:45 PM »
By running into the kicker, R fouled behind the LOS taking PSK out of the equation.  So K has the ability, with the acceptance of the penalty to replay the down. That 5 yard walk-off would move the ball to K's 10 - making it 4th and 10 from the K 10.  Then, R's DBPF would be enforced from the succeeding spot - K's 10 - giving K a first down at the K 25.