Recent Posts

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10
31
General Discussion / UFL
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 14, 2024, 03:55:34 PM »
I tune into the UFL games just because it is football, and to watch the officials. In the past, with USFL and XFL, I used to know a handful. But, now, I have only met one of them. I wish them all the best.
But, is it just me? Or is the quality of play really just not very good? Every time I tune in, the first play I see is a ‘sack,’ or a BC getting tackled for a loss. Strikes me as being really bad football.

What do you guys see?
32
NCAA Discussion / Re: Questions of the Day
« Last post by dammitbobby on April 12, 2024, 03:17:30 PM »
Ah - simple error. Should be on the RFP signal. Was multitasking when I wrote out the answers and got distracted.
33
NCAA Discussion / Re: Questions of the Day
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 12, 2024, 02:39:05 PM »
2/8, A-42, 3:30 (1), A=7, B=0. A12, directly behind the snapper, receives the backward pass snap at the A-37 and looks downfield for his target receiver, A88. A88 is closely guarded, forcing A12 to look for a different receiver. B55 gets around A77 and approaches A12 (who has not moved laterally from the spot where he received the snap). Just as A12 starts to move his throwing arm to throw the ball, B55 lunges and grabs A12 by the jersey, just above the back nameplate, and pulls downward. The pulling action causes A12’s left knee to buckle, and A12 stumbles backward, falling, but catches himself with his free hand, preventing him from falling to the ground. A12 attempts to advance, but is then surrounded by other players of Team B, and is tackled and downed at the A-40 (with the ball being declared dead).
Ruling:

Result of the play is a sack by B at the A-40. B55 commits a horse collar tackle foul (change this year – no more exception that allows HCT in the tackle box.) Even though he did not pull him to the ground, he still buckled his leg. Foul is enforced 15 yards from the previous spot with automatic first down, so A 1/10 at the B43, GC/snap, PC/25.
Why do you say game clock on the snap?

3/10, B-35, 2:05 (2), A=10, B=10.  Team A has two times-out available. A12 receives a direct hand-to-hand snap, and moves to his right. At the B-38, A12 throws a legal forward pass toward end A88, who catches the ball and is immediately tackled and downed, with the ball being declared dead inbounds at the B-26. At the moment the ball became dead, the game clock read 1:55. A12 is attempting to get the Referee’s attention to request a charged team time out. When the game clock is stopped, it reads 1:50.
Ruling:

Result of the play is a legal forward pass caught by A88 at the B-26. Under the proposed rule to implement a 2-minute warning timeout, the clock stops at the end of any play where the running game clock passes the 2:00 mark. The clock should be reset to 1:55, and A will not be charged a timeout charged with a timeout. A 4/1 at B26, GC/snap, PC/25.
34
NCAA Discussion / Re: Questions of the Day
« Last post by dammitbobby on April 12, 2024, 01:10:48 PM »
2/8, A-42, 3:30 (1), A=7, B=0. A12, directly behind the snapper, receives the backward pass snap at the A-37 and looks downfield for his target receiver, A88. A88 is closely guarded, forcing A12 to look for a different receiver. B55 gets around A77 and approaches A12 (who has not moved laterally from the spot where he received the snap). Just as A12 starts to move his throwing arm to throw the ball, B55 lunges and grabs A12 by the jersey, just above the back nameplate, and pulls downward. The pulling action causes A12’s left knee to buckle, and A12 stumbles backward, falling, but catches himself with his free hand, preventing him from falling to the ground. A12 attempts to advance, but is then surrounded by other players of Team B, and is tackled and downed at the A-40 (with the ball being declared dead).
Ruling:

Result of the play is a sack by B at the A-40. B55 commits a horse collar tackle foul (change this year – no more exception that allows HCT in the tackle box.) Even though he did not pull him to the ground, he still buckled his leg. Foul is enforced 15 yards from the previous spot with automatic first down, so A 1/10 at the B43, GC/snap, PC/25.

3/10, B-35, 2:05 (2), A=10, B=10.  Team A has two times-out available. A12 receives a direct hand-to-hand snap, and moves to his right. At the B-38, A12 throws a legal forward pass toward end A88, who catches the ball and is immediately tackled and downed, with the ball being declared dead inbounds at the B-26. At the moment the ball became dead, the game clock read 1:55. A12 is attempting to get the Referee’s attention to request a charged team time out. When the game clock is stopped, it reads 1:50.
Ruling:

Result of the play is a legal forward pass caught by A88 at the B-26. Under the proposed rule to implement a 2-minute warning timeout, the clock stops at the end of any play where the running game clock passes the 2:00 mark. The clock should be reset to 1:55, and A will not be charged a timeout charged with a timeout. A 4/1 at B26, GC/snap, PC/25.

35
NCAA Discussion / Questions of the Day
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 12, 2024, 10:42:51 AM »
Try these (based on what we know of 2024 rule changes):

2/8, A-42, 3:30 (1), A=7, B=0. A12, directly behind the snapper, receives the backward pass snap at the A-37 and looks downfield for his target receiver, A88. A88 is closely guarded, forcing A12 to look for a different receiver. B55 gets around A77 and approaches A12 (who has not moved laterally from the spot where he received the snap). Just as A12 starts to move his throwing arm to throw the ball, B55 lunges and grabs A12 by the jersey, just above the back nameplate, and pulls downward. The pulling action causes A12’s left knee to buckle, and A12 stumbles backward, falling, but catches himself with his free hand, preventing him from falling to the ground. A12 attempts to advance, but is then surrounded by other players of Team B, and is tackled and downed at the A-40 (with the ball being declared dead).
Ruling:



3/10, B-35, 2:05 (2), A=10, B=10.  Team A has two times-out available. A12 receives a direct hand-to-hand snap, and moves to his right. At the B-38, A12 throws a legal forward pass toward end A88, who catches the ball and is immediately tackled and downed, with the ball being declared dead inbounds at the B-26. At the moment the ball became dead, the game clock read 1:55. A12 is attempting to get the Referee’s attention to request a charged team time out. When the game clock is stopped, it reads 1:50.
Ruling:
36
NCAA Discussion / Re: Timeline to becoming a Div 1 ref
« Last post by ilyazhito on April 12, 2024, 07:22:12 AM »
I'm probably in a similar boat. I work JUCO and D3, and I'm looking to get picked up full-time at the D3 and/or D2 levels. I've been trying out for one assigner for the last 3 years, but I haven't got the call yet. I'll have 2 other tryouts next week, one for a guy who assigns both D2 and D3, and one for the CIAA. I've been calling HS football since 2015, college since 2019. It's good to know that it is a long process and can sometimes take a long time. I'm wondering if I should try out for ODAC, but then travel might be brutal if I have to also do USA South.
37
General Discussion / Re: They just don't give up, do they...
« Last post by Grant - AR on April 11, 2024, 04:49:46 PM »
That one got in somehow.

You should see some of the ones that don’t get in. Grant set the system so they must register and be approved, I reject around 20 a day and likely the other admins do the same.

I've been rejecting several each day, but I think you get the majority because you typically check it earlier than I do each morning. 

If I can get some time, I'm going to look through the software modifications to see if there's a spam filter somewhere.  There used to be one, but it was taken down.  Hopefully we aren't the only ones seeing these and someone has created a new mod to take care of it.
38
General Discussion / Re: They just don't give up, do they...
« Last post by Etref on April 11, 2024, 04:38:34 PM »
That one got in somehow.

You should see some of the ones that don’t get in. Grant set the system so they must register and be approved, I reject around 20 a day and likely the other admins do the same.
39
General Discussion / They just don't give up, do they...
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 11, 2024, 04:04:57 PM »
RoscoeWhads

Now there's a likely real name, eh? Geez.
40
NCAA Discussion / Re: Rogers Redding
« Last post by JDM on April 11, 2024, 12:20:52 PM »
Such sad news, indeed. Rogers was instrumental in helping me understand the rules. In 1997, as a 6th year official, I learned about the Redding Study Guide and have purchased a copy every year since. I also enjoyed hearing him speak at various clinics. He leaves an indelible mark on college football officiating.

Condolences to his family.

https://www.curriejefferson.com/obituaries/rogers-redding
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10