Recent Posts

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10
51
NCAA Discussion / Re: Rogers Redding
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 09, 2024, 11:22:48 AM »
I had heard that, as well (from very reliable sources). A true case of a good man who will be sorely missed. May God bless his family.

52
NCAA Discussion / Rogers Redding
« Last post by Grant - AR on April 09, 2024, 10:52:07 AM »
I heard a couple of days ago that Rogers has passed away.  Please keep his wife and family in your prayers. 
53
NCAA Discussion / Re: Fair Catch rules
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 08, 2024, 01:36:56 PM »
Well, crap. 10 years ago was during the period that I was briefly retired. But no excuse. For a strict interpretationist like me, I should have been able to see that ANY signal given by any Team B player, anywhere on the field, while the legally kicked ball is still loose will cause the ball to become dead when possessed by Team B. Team A can always catch/recover/advance a ball that is still loose from a legal kick that has NOT crossed the NZ.
As for why Team A can advance the kicked ball that is still loose from a kick that has not crossed the NZ, after a signal by Team B, that is because Team A does not have the fair catch privilege. Only Team B. So, a Team A player can catch/recover the kicked ball before it has crossed the NZ, and advance, because everyone knows that he does not have the privilege of not being blocked/tackled when he catches/recovers the ball, regardless of which team gave a signal.
Strictly reading 2-8-2 and 2-8-3, there is no mention of where on the field the signal may, or may not be given. So, by pure interpretation, that means a there is no restriction on WHERE a signal may be given. And, they also say that the only valid signals are those by Team B, and even the only INVALD signals are those given by Team B. The quoted AR reinforces this by stating that ANY signal by Team A is ignored.
So, if Team B makes any kind of signal while the kick is still a kick, Team B may not advance it if they catch/recover it. Team A can always catch/recover/advance a kick until it has crossed the NZ (even if they give a signal).

And by signal, it does require some amount of movement that can be said to be a waving motion. Only pointing is not a signal.
54
NCAA Discussion / Re: Fair Catch rules
« Last post by dammitbobby on April 08, 2024, 12:54:34 PM »
That's probably what they mean, but I don't think it's really that clear.

Additional thought - why does A's signal behind the NZ keep the ball alive after a catch, but B's doesn't?  What's the distinction between A signaling and B signaling, if they're essentially the same (both invalid)?

What if B signals, but A catches? Or if they both signal?
55
NCAA Discussion / Re: Fair Catch rules
« Last post by Kalle on April 08, 2024, 12:24:59 PM »
AR 6-5-3

A1 or B1 signals for a fair catch beyond the neutral zone during a kick that does not cross the neutral zone. RULING: Any signal by Team A is ignored. Team B may not make a fair catch signal because the ball did not
cross the neutral zone. However, the ball is dead when caught or recovered (Rules 2-8-1-a and 4-1-3-g).

Being very pedantic, this is worded incorrectly. The first sentence says A1 or B1 makes a FC signal, but in the ruling, it says B is not allowed to - is doing so a foul? Is it a violation? Is it ignored? If it's ignored (which it kind of seems to be), why doesn't it say 'Any signal by Team A OR B is ignored?'

Things to ponder, waiting on the eclipse...

My take of the A.R. is that if A1 does a high waving signal, that is ignored and the ball will continue to be in play if caught or recovered by team B. If B1 does a high waving signal, fair catch rules do not kick in but the ball will become dead when possessed by a player of either team.
56
NCAA Discussion / Re: Fair Catch rules
« Last post by dammitbobby on April 08, 2024, 09:17:44 AM »
AR 6-5-3

A1 or B1 signals for a fair catch beyond the neutral zone during a kick that does not cross the neutral zone. RULING: Any signal by Team A is ignored. Team B may not make a fair catch signal because the ball did not
cross the neutral zone. However, the ball is dead when caught or recovered (Rules 2-8-1-a and 4-1-3-g).

Being very pedantic, this is worded incorrectly. The first sentence says A1 or B1 makes a FC signal, but in the ruling, it says B is not allowed to - is doing so a foul? Is it a violation? Is it ignored? If it's ignored (which it kind of seems to be), why doesn't it say 'Any signal by Team A OR B is ignored?'

Things to ponder, waiting on the eclipse...
57
NCAA Discussion / Re: Fair Catch rules
« Last post by bossman72 on April 08, 2024, 08:31:46 AM »
So, if a player of Team B gives a signal behind/in/beyond the neutral zone, but the ball does not cross the neutral zone, the signal means nothing. The ball remains alive and in play, and players of either team may catch or recover, and advance the ball. 

I think we talked about this in a thread a year or so ago.  They changed this about 10 years ago in the ARs.  This is a dead ball now.
58
General Discussion / Re: Rule writers
« Last post by Etref on April 06, 2024, 11:28:13 PM »
👍
59
General Discussion / Re: Rule writers
« Last post by ElvisLives on April 06, 2024, 06:58:46 PM »
Knew Dotson was there, didnít know he had a vote

Not Dotson, Bailey Marshal - UIL Exec Director back then. I believe Dotson was able to sit in and advise, but the UIL had the vote.
60
General Discussion / Re: Rule writers
« Last post by Etref on April 06, 2024, 06:29:42 PM »
The Texas high school association, the University Interscholastic League (UIL) held a voting position on the NCAA Rules Committee for some time, until 1984. The NCAA actually used the UIL to Ďexperimentí with some rules back in those days.
Not saying that was good or bad. Just a fact.

Knew Dotson was there, didnít know he had a vote
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10