Author Topic: Eligible receiver funny business  (Read 396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jra104

  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Eligible receiver funny business
« on: October 16, 2022, 01:17:29 PM »
Playing a team that has a kid that goes both ways as an OL/DL.  They sometimes line him up at the TE spot UNCOVERED.  We know he not allowed to catch a forward pass but does formation allow him to go out as a receiver?  Would he be an ineligible receiver down field?
Thanks

Offline Clear Lake ref

  • *
  • Posts: 205
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Eligible receiver funny business
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2022, 01:50:04 PM »
If numbered 50-79, yes, illegal to be downfield on a forward pass that crosses the neutral zone.

Offline Etref

  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2208
  • FAN REACTION: +81/-27
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
Re: Eligible receiver funny business
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2022, 03:01:53 PM »
And if he has an eligible number and plays as an interior lineman you may have formation problems
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline jra104

  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Eligible receiver funny business
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2022, 03:23:50 PM »
follow up question, can a covered up receiver catch a pass that is BEHIND the LOS?
Thanks


Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 3034
  • FAN REACTION: +143/-137
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Eligible receiver funny business
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2022, 03:45:32 PM »
“Eligibility” refers to the ability of players to touch legal forward passes, only, before the ball is touched by any player of Team B, or an official, anywhere on the field. Backs and ends (both as defined by rule) wearing numbers OTHER than 50-79 are eligible to touch a legal forward pass, before it is touched by Team B or an official. All Team B players are always eligible to touch a forward pass.
No ineligible player may touch a legal forward pass, anywhere on the field, before it is touched by Team B or an official.