Author Topic: Inbounding the ball question  (Read 104 times)

Offline CenTexZebra

  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Inbounding the ball question
« on: November 30, 2017, 10:20:48 AM »
Team is inbounding the ball. Thrower sticks ball out over the line
And defender reaches out and grabs ball always from player. Is this legal?  And what is the NFHS rule

Offline Eastshire

  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
Re: Inbounding the ball question
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2017, 08:45:45 AM »
Team is inbounding the ball. Thrower sticks ball out over the line
And defender reaches out and grabs ball always from player. Is this legal?  And what is the NFHS rule

The defender is allowed to touch/grab the ball if it is over the line. It is possible to have a held ball (jump ball) in this situation. The ball would then be put into play according to the AP arrow. (If it was an AP arrow throw-in to begin with, the same team would again be given the throw-in because the arrow doesn't change until the throw-in is complete and the throw-in is complete only if the ball has been passed and touched by another player or if the throwing team has a throw-in violation.)