Author Topic: player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD  (Read 1772 times)

refjb

  • Guest
player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD
« on: July 15, 2011, 10:03:22 AM »
Does anyone have a link to a play where the player went OOB jumps in the air and tip the ball to his team mate while in the air for a TD.

I tink it was in an Oregon game last year.




Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2011, 02:02:50 PM »
He wasn't out of bounds, he was in the air!   ;)

And thus the rule change ......

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2011, 02:09:14 PM »
Here is one where the kid appears t leap from inbounds, although you can't definitively see his feet.:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnwJluRTalk

Offline AlUpstateNY

  • *
  • Posts: 3379
  • FAN REACTION: +257/-493
Re: player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2011, 08:49:36 AM »
Here is one where the kid appears t leap from inbounds, although you can't definitively see his feet.:

With respect to the family of this deceased horse, can we let it reast in peace.

As has ALWAYS & continues to be the case, the only person on the planet who decides whether the leaping player jumped from inbounds, and therefore continues to be inbounds and can legally redirect the ball other than forward, or touched OOB before leaping, and with the 2011 revision would be guilty of Illegal Participation for touching the ball, is the covering official(s).

That is the nature of a bang-bang call and stresses the importance of being in the right position to make that call, which is largely affected by the size of the crew (4, 5, 6 or 7 men), the play situation and the readiness to make the call.

Offline ljudge

  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-2
Re: player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2011, 05:46:28 PM »
So if we read the wording carefully had this same player (who tipped the ball) was forced OOB he can still tip the ball so long as he's not touching OOB.  In other words with the rule change this would still be a TD if he happened to be forced OOB.  Of course if we was touching the ground while coming in contact with the ball it would be incomplete but if feet in the air.....still a TD.

footballref

  • Guest
Re: player OOB jumps and tips ball to teammate for TD
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2011, 09:22:18 PM »
Here is one where the kid appears t leap from inbounds, although you can't definitively see his feet.:

I believe this play will still be legal. It looks like the player had never went OOB.