Author Topic: First Touching of a Free Kick  (Read 2153 times)

Offline cbrunnjo

  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
First Touching of a Free Kick
« on: August 18, 2011, 09:22:21 AM »
Is it possible to have first touching down field on a Free Kick?

« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 09:27:42 AM by cbrunnjo »

Offline InsideTheStripes

  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-5
Re: First Touching of a Free Kick
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 09:38:54 AM »
Define "downfield".

If you are asking if you can have first touching once the ball crosses R's free-kick line, the answer is NO.

2-12-1
During a free kick it is first touching if the ball is touched in the field of play by any K player before it crosses Rís free-kick line and before it is touched there by any R player

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: First Touching of a Free Kick
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 09:52:55 AM »
As ITS points out, first touching on a free kick can occur only when the ball is still in the neutral zone. Once the ball is past R's free kick line (or "downfield"), K may recover it.

In coach-speak, "That's a live ball, get on it!". (Google translator provided that for us :) ).

Offline cbrunnjo

  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: First Touching of a Free Kick
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2011, 10:58:56 AM »
Got it - for some reason I was thinking that if K tried to jump on ball when it was past the R's restraining line and touched it but did not cover/possess the ball it was first touching since a kick is a kick until possessed.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2236
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-25
Re: First Touching of a Free Kick
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2011, 11:54:37 AM »
Got it - for some reason I was thinking that if K tried to jump on ball when it was past the R's restraining line and touched it but did not cover/possess the ball it was first touching since a kick is a kick until possessed.

It's only first touching if K touches a ball they can't legally possess.  Otherwise it's simply a muff.

But you're right in thinking that the kick still hasn't ended.

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: First Touching of a Free Kick
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2011, 02:21:57 PM »
Got it - for some reason I was thinking that if K tried to jump on ball when it was past the R's restraining line and touched it but did not cover/possess the ball it was first touching since a kick is a kick until possessed.

The term 'first touching' isn't entirely felicitous, as your case points out. K touches the ball, and they touch it first, but it's not first touching! Oh well.