Author Topic: Interception in the end zone.  (Read 1408 times)

hortod

  • Guest
Interception in the end zone.
« on: August 28, 2011, 10:04:01 AM »
I know this seems basic rules interpretation but I need help.  A throws an interception to B in A's endzone.  Can, in federation rules, B run this ball out of the endzone should this be blown dead an called a touchback with the result being B's ball at the 20?

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: Interception in the end zone.
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2011, 11:04:12 AM »
B may run the ball out of the end zone.  Only a kick that enters the end zone is an automatic touchback.  A fumble or interception may be advanced.

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2245
  • FAN REACTION: +65/-13
Re: Interception in the end zone.
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2011, 12:00:18 PM »
AB is correct, it is not an automatic touchback except for a kick.

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: Interception in the end zone.
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2011, 03:38:36 PM »
You probably mean that A threw a pass that B intercepted in B's end zone. A team's end zone is the one they are defending. If B intercepts a pass in A's end zone, that's a touchdown! :)