Situation: A12 completes a pass downfield to A84 at the 50. A84 runs 5 yards to the B45 where he fumbles and the ball rolls out of bounds at the B40. A12 was roughed on the play. Y'all know what the penalty enforcement says. Could we not change (dead ball spot) to succeeding spot next year?
Oh, look. It's our old friend "Unintended Consequences".
I think if you go for an overly literal reading of the rule, there are several places that this all falls apart, which is why we shouldn't get all overly literal here.
RTP is enforced from the dead ball spot if A has possession of the ball at the end of the down. This can mean one of two things:
1) A has player possession of the ball, which is why the penalty is enforced from the previous spot if the pass is incomplete.
2) A has team possession of the ball, so if B recovers the fumble, the penalty isn't enforced from the end of B's run. (Yes, there's a caveat about no change of possession, but not relevant to my point)
If 1 is true, then previously if A fumbled the ball out of bounds at the end of the play, we should have enforced from the previous spot, but if 2 is true, then we should enforce from where an incomplete pass hits the ground?
Neither of those is what we do, nor do I suggest we should do that. So, I suggest we do what we've always done -- if A is in team possession of the ball at the end of the play (and there has been no change of possession), enforce from the succeeding spot, otherwise previous spot. Maybe we should fix the wording of the rule as well, but don't do anything silly between now and then?