Football Officiating > Texas Topics

Question of the Day

(1/3) > >>

ElvisLives:
Just keeping things alive.

Kickoff, A-40, 1:23 (2). A11’s kick is in flight when B80, at the B-25, makes a quick waving motion with his arm above his head. As the ball flies over his head, B80 moves forward and blocks A66 at the B-30. B99 catches the untouched ball in the end zone, where he takes a knee.
Ruling:

dammitbobby:
The result of the play is a touchback, B 1/10 at the 25. However, B80 has committed an illegal block (6-5-4). The penalty will be enforced from the basic spot (25), so B 1/10 @15, PC 25, snap.

TxBJ:
The basic spot on a kickoff is the previous spot. It the penalty is accepted they will rekick.

Legacy Zebra:
The basic spot on a free kick play is the previous spot. However, this foul is not a basic spot foul. It has an enforcement spot listed in the penalty statement. 10 yards from the spot of the foul. It will be B’s ball at the B-20.

ElvisLives:

--- Quote from: dammitbobby on September 10, 2025, 11:33:17 AM ---The result of the play is a touchback, B 1/10 at the 25. However, B80 has committed an illegal block (6-5-4). The penalty will be enforced from the basic spot (25), so B 1/10 @15, PC 25, snap.

--- End quote ---

Bobby, if this a Basic Spot/3 & 1 enforcement foul, what is the Basic Spot for fouls that occur during the kick play portion of a down? The Previous Spot. So, if this is a BS/3&1 penalty, then, on a free kick play, it could only be enforced at the Previous Spot, and the kickoff repeated.
But, it isn’t a BS/3 & 1 penalty. In the penalty statement, it is 10-yards, enforced from the spot of the foul, with B next putting the ball in play by snap (1/10). Period. The penalty, from the B-30, would take the ball to the B-20, 1/10. Team A would accept the penalty. However, this foul could easily occur more than 10 yards ahead of the natural succeeding spot, in which case, Team A would decline.
This was once a 15-yard penalty, but, they realized it wasn’t a safety foul - just more of a procedural foul, i.e., an otherwise legal block that occurred when the block simply wasn’t permitted (just like Team A blocking early on a onside free kick). So, they reduced it to 10-yards.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version