Author Topic: Casebooks  (Read 1996 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BetweenTheLines

  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-3
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Casebooks
« on: May 29, 2025, 07:05:18 PM »
Does anyone know when the casebooks should arrive?

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4974
  • FAN REACTION: +872/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Casebooks
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2025, 12:38:01 PM »
The journey of a NFHS Football Case Book.....

SHIPPED FROM NFHS IN LATE MAY > ARRIVE IN YOUR STATE'S OFFICE VIA SNAIL MAIL > SENT TO STATE FOOLBALL CHAPTER SECRETARY > SENT TO LOCAL CHAPTER SECRETARY >SENT TO LOCAL OFFICIALS.

i LOOK FOR MINE AROUND FLAG DAY  FlAg1 JUNE 14  FlAg1
Disclaimer : Yours may arrive later as our chapter secretary is also our state secertary. Your state may have a more expedient means of transport, but don't expect it by Father's Day.  tR:oLl 

Offline riffraft

  • *
  • Posts: 323
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-19
Re: Casebooks
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2025, 10:09:07 AM »
Arizona gets our rules and case books at our first rules meeting of the season in July.

Online Snapper

  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • FAN REACTION: +16/-2
Re: Casebooks
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2025, 02:08:50 PM »


i LOOK FOR MINE AROUND FLAG DAY  FlAg1 JUNE 14  FlAg1
Disclaimer : Yours may arrive later as our chapter secretary is also our state secertary. Your state may have a more expedient means of transport, but don't expect it by Father's Day.

Yep good info

MI rule and casebooks arrived in my mail today 6/16

Offline sj

  • *
  • Posts: 227
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-1
Re: Casebooks
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2025, 10:43:15 PM »
If it's in there what does the case book have for this play that's been discussed?

B26 intercepts A14’s pass at the B-4 yardline.  His momentum takes him into the EZ, where he is hit and fumbles.  The fumble goes OOB at the B-2 yardline.

Online Snapper

  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • FAN REACTION: +16/-2
Re: Casebooks
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2025, 11:32:46 PM »
If it's in there what does the case book have for this play that's been discussed?

B26 intercepts A14’s pass at the B-4 yardline.  His momentum takes him into the EZ, where he is hit and fumbles.  The fumble goes OOB at the B-2 yardline.

I searched for your play, and they did cover it.  Momentum does still apply.

4.3.1 SITUATION E:
B1 intercepts a pass on B's 4-yard line with his momentum taking him directly towards his goal line and into the end zone.  B1 fumbles from the end zone into the field of-play and out of bounds at the 1-yard line.
RULING:
For the purpose of administering this play, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.  The momentum exception in 8-5-2 applies and it will be B's ball, first and 10 at B's 4-yard line.  (8-5-2a EXCEPTION)
COMMENT:
Had the fumble occurred in the field of play prior to crossing the goal line, the momentum exception would not have applied and the ball would have been returned to the spot of the fumble.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2025, 11:53:42 PM by Snapper »

Online Snapper

  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • FAN REACTION: +16/-2
Re: Casebooks
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2025, 12:09:03 AM »
I took a look at your guys' thread where you were discussing this.  As Bama Stripes said in that thread, the Fed did put language into the Momentum Exception to cover this.

But the play situation itself is grouped with some other "fumble forward" plays under 4.3.1 in the Casebook.