Author Topic: Shaw-Blandino Pre-Season Quiz 1 - Answers adjusted for UIL Football  (Read 282 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 3970
  • FAN REACTION: +177/-152
  • The rules are there if you need them.
UIL answers for SB Pre-Season Quiz 1

1. 2/10 @ A-45. Midway through the 4th quarter, back A21 catches a swing pass at the A-42 and runs down to the B-25 and is tackled. After the ball is spotted but not yet ready for play, B55 is moving back to the line of scrimmage, looks to the sideline and then goes down injured at the B-30. Both teams have all timeouts remaining.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-25, ready (25).
The game clock (and play clock) are interrupted for the injury. Unless Team B uses a time-out (if available), the play clock is set to 40-seconds, and both clocks will start on the referee’s signal. B55 may not participate in the next down.
(Note that the UIL did NOT adopt the 2025 NCAA rule change for injuries after the ball is spotted.)
 
2. 2/10 @ A-45. Midway through the 4th quarter, back A21 catches a swing pass at the A-42 and runs down to the B-25 and is tackled. After the ball is spotted but not yet ready for play, B55 is moving back to the line of scrimmage, looks to the sideline and then goes down injured at the B-30. Team B is out of timeouts.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-25, ready (25).
The game clock (and play clock) are interrupted for the injury. The play clock is set to 40-seconds, and both clocks will start on the referee’s signal. B55 may not participate in the next down.
(Note that the UIL did NOT adopt the 2025 NCAA rule change for injuries after the ball is spotted.)

3. 2/10 @ A-45. Midway through the 4th quarter, back A21 catches a swing pass at the A-42 and runs down to the B-25 and is tackled. After the ball is spotted, B55 crosses back to his side of the line of scrimmage, looks to the sideline and then goes down injured at the B-20 after the ball was ready for play.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-25, ready (25).
The game clock (and play clock) are interrupted for the injury. Unless Team B uses a time-out (if available), the play clock is set to 40-seconds, and both clocks will start on the referee’s signal. B55 may not participate in the next down.
(Note that the UIL did NOT adopt the 2025 NCAA rule change for injuries after the ball is spotted.)

4. Try @ B-3. First possession series of the 4th extra period. After calling a team timeout during the 3rd extra period, Team A substitutes late in the play clock, and the Team A head coach calls timeout just before the play clock goes to zero.
RULING:
A, Try, B-8, no game clock (25).
Game officials shall ignore the request for a time-out by the Team A head coach. Team A then commits a delay-of-game foul when the play clock expires.

5. Free Kick @ A-35. While the kick is in the air, B21 gives a “T signal” thinking he will not return the kick. The ball is caught by B21 at the B-5 and the officials blow the play dead.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-25, snap (25).
By 2025 rule change, B21’s “T” signal will cause the ball to become dead. Upon completion of the catch, game officials are to sound their whistles and stop all action. Since Team B caught the ball behind their 25-yard line, Team B will be awarded a scrimmage series at the B-25. (Unless Team B attempts to advance the ball after the catch, there is no foul in the given conditions.)

6. 4/10 @ A-45. Team A sends in their punt team, and has no players numbered 50 – 79. They initially line up in a scrimmage kick formation, but before the snap, back A44 shifts to a position five yards behind the snapper in the clear path from the snapper to the potential kicker. The ball is snapped to A44 who throws a legal forward pass to end A88 who catches the ball at the B-45 and runs out of bounds at the B-40.
RULING:
A, 4/15, A-40, snap (25).
Team A commits a foul for an illegal formation when the ball is snapped from the given formation, because they do not have at least five linemen number 50-79. By 2025 rule change, when A44 moved to a position on a direct line between the snapper and the potential kicker, Team A was no longer in a scrimmage kick formation (as defined). As such, Team A must have at least five linemen numbered 50-79.

7. 1/10 @ B-25. Team A is down by 4 points and snaps the ball with 12 seconds remaining on the game clock in the 4th quarter. QB A12 can find no receiver open, scrambles outside the tackle box and throws the ball away beyond the neutral zone and the play ends with 6 seconds remaining. The defense participated with 12 players on the field.
RULING:
A, 1/5, B-20, 0:12 (4), snap (25).
A12 has legally grounded the ball to end the down.
By 2025 rule change (from a 2024 in-season Sec-Ed interpretation), when Team B commits a an illegal substitution foul for too many players on the field during the last 2-minutes of the 2nd or 4th periods (with all twelve players participating and influencing the action during the down), if Team A accepts the penalty (5-yards, previous spot and repeat the down), Team A also has the option to restore the game clock to the time at snap for the previous down. 

8. 1/10 @ B-25. Team A is down by 4 points and snaps the ball with 12 seconds remaining on the game clock in the 4th quarter. QB A12 can find no receiver open, scrambles outside the tackle box and throws the ball away beyond the neutral zone and the play ends with 6 seconds remaining. The defense had 12 players on the field at the snap but B21 was hustling to get off the field and the ball was snapped just before B21 exited the field.
RULING:
A, 1/5, B-20, 0:06 (4), snap (25).
A12 has legally grounded the ball to end the down.
Team B has committed an illegal substitution foul for too many players on the field. Team A will accept the 5-yard penalty at the previous spot, and the down will be repeated. Because B21 did not participate and influence the action during the down, there is no adjustment to the game clock.