RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: RS on June 26, 2018, 09:18:47 AM
-
Anyone have any idea when the 2018 test will be open?
Seems like it's about that time.
-
Ask and ye shall receive. It just went up.
-
Can someone please post a copy.
-
2018 test pdf
[attachment deleted by admin]
-
While a free kick is in the air, B21 gives valid fair catch signal at the B-5. In an attempt to catch the kick at the A-5, B21 muffs the ball and the ball strikes the ground and rolls to the B-7 where B21 recovers the ball with both knees on the ground.
a. The ball is dead when recovered and belongs to Team B at the B-5.
b. The ball is dead when recovered, and belongs to Team B at the B-7.
c. The ball is dead when recovered. Team B’s ball 1st and 10 at the 25-yard line.
d. The ball is dead when recovered. Team B’s ball 1st and 10 at the 20 yard-line.
I'm pretty sure "A-5" is supposed to be B-5. Interesting thought, though... A really odd kick, and a really fast B21. ;D
-
"Receiver B88 signals for a first catch while the ball is..."
"First" catch. Interesting typo. Gets me to thinking, and that's dangerous.
-
The available answers for this one bother me.
Fourth and 13 at the A-37. The punt bounces at the B-5 high into the air. After the ball breaks the goal line plane, A37 bats that ball back into the field of play and out-of-bounds at the B-2. During the kick, A40 commits a holding foul at the B-8 while trying to prevent B80 from getting to the kick.
a. Team B, first and 10 from the B-30.
b. Team B, first and 10 from the B-12.
c. Team B, first and 10 from the B-20.
d. Team A, fourth and 23 at the A-27.
e. a and d are the only options.
f. b, c and d are all valid options.
"a" is the most likely option (ITK in the end zone gives the ball to B at the B-20, and the holding penalty can be enforced there, taking the ball to the B-30).
"a" is not an option, by rule.
"b" is unreasonable, but possible, if B did not exercise the ITK in the end zone privilege, and enforced the holding penalty from the B-2.
"c" is unreasonable, but possible, if B took the ITK in the end zone privilege, taking the ball at the B-20, and declining the holding penalty.
"d" is unlikely, but potentially reasonable, depending on time & score; B does not exercise the ITK in the end zone privilege, and enforces the holding penalty at the previous spot (which requires the down to be repeated).
"e" is not correct, because "a" and "d" are is not the ONLY an option. options; they may be the only reasonable, options, but they are not the only options.
"f" is correct, in that those options are, in fact, "valid" options, if "valid" means they are technically available. If, in this case, "valid" means "reasonable," then this answer is incorrect.
I'm going with "f", but I don't like the question.
Robert
-
The available answers for this one bother me.
Fourth and 13 at the A-37. The punt bounces at the B-5 high into the air. After the ball breaks the goal line plane, A37 bats that ball back into the field of play and out-of-bounds at the B-2. During the kick, A40 commits a holding foul at the B-8 while trying to prevent B80 from getting to the kick.
a. Team B, first and 10 from the B-30.
b. Team B, first and 10 from the B-12.
c. Team B, first and 10 from the B-20.
d. Team A, fourth and 23 at the A-27.
e. a and d are the only options.
f. b, c and d are all valid options.
"a" is the most likely option (ITK in the end zone gives the ball to B at the B-20, and the holding penalty can be enforced there, taking the ball to the B-30).
"b" is unreasonable, but possible, if B did not exercise the ITK in the end zone privilege, and enforced the holding penalty from the B-2.
"c" is unreasonable, but possible, if B took the ITK in the end zone privilege, taking the ball at the B-20, and declining the holding penalty.
"d" is unlikely, but potentially reasonable, depending on time & score; B does not exercise the ITK in the end zone privilege, and enforces the holding penalty at the previous spot (which requires the down to be repeated).
"e" is not correct, because "a" and "d" are not the ONLY options; they may be the only reasonable, options, but they are not the only options.
"f" is correct, in that those options are, in fact, "valid" options, if "valid" means they are technically available. If, in this case, "valid" means "reasonable," then this answer is incorrect.
I'm going with "f", but I don't like the question.
Robert
The answer is "F".
A few years ago, they changed the rule regarding ITK in the end zone. Accepting A's holding foul cancels ITK. So you can either tack on from the B2 or enforce at previous spot and replay.
Therefore, answer "A" is incorrect.
Had it been a Team B foul, then you use the 20 as your PSK spot. Weird, I know...
-
The answer is "F".
A few years ago, they changed the rule regarding ITK in the end zone. Accepting A's holding foul cancels ITK. So you can either tack on from the B2 or enforce at previous spot and replay.
Therefore, answer "A" is incorrect.
Had it been a Team B foul, then you use the 20 as your PSK spot. Weird, I know...
This is pretty much A.R. 6-3-11-V (2017 book).
-
Concur on answer "a" not being a correct option. But, the question is still very ambiguous. Technically, b, c, and d could all happen, but only d is potentially reasonable. If valid means technically available, then yes, "f" is correct. If it means reasonable, then no.
But, I'm sticking with "f."
Robert
-
If b is a “valid option” then why wouldn’t both a and b be correct for #1?
-
If b is a “valid option” then why wouldn’t both a and b be correct for #1?
Your #1 may be different than others. The questions are shuffled.
Robert
-
Not on the pdf they’re not.
-
Well, then, agreed - this is another example of a glitch in the questions.
Robert
-
Staying in same thread but different questions. Questions on #64 and #73 (PDF version).
#64 I can't find the AR that state one way or another if we can tack BOTH carry-over PF/UNS fouls over to the kickoff, one PF during a TD and one during a successful try. Can we assess 30 yards on the succeeding KO or if they carryover one from the TD play that if something (a PF or other carryover type foul) that they can't also use it.
#73 I have always treated a swinging gate as NOT a legal scrimmage kick formation, however--and I may be overthinking this--given that there is a snapper, holder and kicker in position, and it is a try, does the NCAA want this to be a valid SK formation? I have this as illegal (answer "f")
Thanks for the clarification
-
SJ_31,
Like you, I’d like to see an AR that specifically covers this, but, logically, both fouls get penalized at the succeeding spot. What else would you do with the penalties? The rules don’t provide for either penalty to be declined by rule. If Team A thought they might not get to enforce the first penalty on the kickoff, they might want to take it on the Try (and go for 2?). And to simply have the second penalty declined by rule would give Team B carte blanche to commit a personal foul on the Try.
If Team B doesn’t want 30 yards in penalties on the Try, ....
Robert
-
Staying in same thread but different questions. Questions on #64 and #73 (PDF version).
#64 I can't find the AR that state one way or another if we can tack BOTH carry-over PF/UNS fouls over to the kickoff, one PF during a TD and one during a successful try. Can we assess 30 yards on the succeeding KO or if they carryover one from the TD play that if something (a PF or other carryover type foul) that they can't also use it.
#73 I have always treated a swinging gate as NOT a legal scrimmage kick formation, however--and I may be overthinking this--given that there is a snapper, holder and kicker in position, and it is a try, does the NCAA want this to be a valid SK formation? I have this as illegal (answer "f")
Re #73 Case book 7.1.4 VII and VIII seems to imply that on a Try a swinging gate formation with a kicker and holder meets the requirements of a Scrimmage Kick formation.
-
And on 73, there is one more element, by rule, that qualifies a formation as a SKF. It must be “...obvious that a scrimmage kick will be attempted”. As John Adams explained when this rule was developed in the 70s, this means they must be in a traditional punt or field goal formation. Just having a back or backs in the locations behind the NZ that fit the requirements doesn’t make it qualify. With all of the other linemen split out wide, it ain’t much of a kicking formation. I suspect Team B would love for Team A to try a kick from one of those formations.😏
So, a swinging gate doesn’t qualify as a SKF, and they have to comply with regular numbering requirements. If they snap from this formation, with fewer than 5 linemen numbered 50-79, that’s an illegal formation foul.
But, it is not a foul until the snap. So, if they shift to a traditional field goal formation, then they do not have to meet the regular numbering requirements, so they can legally snap from this adjusted formation.
Robert
-
Re #73 Case book 7.1.4 VII and VIII seems to imply that on a Try a swinging gate formation with a kicker and holder meets the requirements of a Scrimmage Kick formation.
Has anyone ever seen a team actually kick from a swinging gate formation? If Team B doesn’t adjust to cover, A will snap and run or pass. If B adjusts to cover them, then A will shift to a traditional field goal formation. While they are in the swinging gate formation, it is not obvious a kick will be attempted, so that formation does not qualify as a SKF.
In VII, the formation is non-traditional for a punt, but it isn’t unreasonable, if on 4th down for certain. Third down and long, it is also not unreasonable. Third and short - no way. That would be a formation that would require them to comply with regular numbering requirements.
In VIII, the formation isn’t a classic swinging gate formation, but it isn’t a traditional punt formation, either, so it isn’t obvious a kick will be made (as the ruling states). So, they have to comply with regular numbering requirements.
Robert
-
21. (Paraphrased statement:) 2/5, A-45. A82 catches legal forward pass and is tackled at the B-30. DPI is called on B27; penalty declined. RO stops the game and determines A82 stepped OB and returned inbounds before the pass was released.
a) 2/5, A-45, GC starts on RFP.
b) 2/5, A-45, GC starts on snap.
c) 3/5, A-45, GC starts on RFP.
d) 3/5, A-45. GC starts on snap.
The problem with this question is we don't know on whom the DPI is committed. If the DPI was to A82, then the DPI foul call would be dismissed after the RO review, because A82 was ineligible, and the only foul would be ITP on A82 (created by the RO), which would yield A, 3/5, A-45, with GC starting on the RFP.
But if the DPI was on an eligible receiver, then there would be offsetting fouls after the RO review, yielding A, 2/5, A-45, with GC starting on then RFP.
Robert
-
21. (Paraphrased statement:) 2/5, A-45. A82 catches legal forward pass and is tackled at the B-30. DPI is called on B27; penalty declined. RO stops the game and determines A82 stepped OB and returned inbounds before the pass was released.
a) 2/5, A-45, GC starts on RFP.
b) 2/5, A-45, GC starts on snap.
c) 3/5, A-45, GC starts on RFP.
d) 3/5, A-45. GC starts on snap.
The problem with this question is we don't know on whom the DPI is committed. If the DPI was to A82, then the DPI foul call would be dismissed after the RO review, because A82 was ineligible, and the only foul would be ITP on A82 (created by the RO), which would yield A, 3/5, A-45, with GC starting on the RFP.
But if the DPI was on an eligible receiver, then there would be offsetting fouls after the RO review, yielding A, 2/5, A-45, with GC starting on then RFP.
Robert
I don't think I've thought about DPI could be committed against some other that the A receiver who caught the ball since catchability is a criteria for DPI.
-
That certainly makes DPI on another receiver difficult, but not impossible. I would just like to see questions that remove all ambiguity. Like,"B27 is flagged for DPI on A82, but Team A initially declines the penalty."
Robert
-
21. (Paraphrased statement:) 2/5, A-45. A82 catches legal forward pass and is tackled at the B-30. DPI is called on B27; penalty declined. RO stops the game and determines A82 stepped OB and returned inbounds before the pass was released.
a) 2/5, A-45, GC starts on RFP.
b) 2/5, A-45, GC starts on snap.
c) 3/5, A-45, GC starts on RFP.
d) 3/5, A-45. GC starts on snap.
The problem with this question is we don't know on whom the DPI is committed. If the DPI was to A82, then the DPI foul call would be dismissed after the RO review, because A82 was ineligible, and the only foul would be ITP on A82 (created by the RO), which would yield A, 3/5, A-45, with GC starting on the RFP.
But if the DPI was on an eligible receiver, then there would be offsetting fouls after the RO review, yielding A, 2/5, A-45, with GC starting on then RFP.
Robert
I've always been told not to overthink these things. It seems pretty clear what they want to ask about is clock status on an IFP penalty. No need to make it more confusing than it needs to be
-
If clock status was the only concern, why give us options for 2/5? Given the facts in the statement, how could you possibly get to 2/5? The only way is if the down was to be repeated. How could that possibly happen? Either an error in thinking the penalty for illegal touching foul requires the down to be repeated (it does not - it carries "loss of down" in the penalty statement), or there were offsetting fouls. How could there be off-setting fouls? POSSIBLY, if the DPI was committed against an eligible receiver.
The entire point of an exam is to test our knowledge, and to avoid "thinking errors." For all any of us know, they were testing our knowledge of the "next down" element as much, if not more, than the clock status. Like you, I DOUBT that the issue of DPI and eligibility is at the heart of this quiz statement, but it IS a possibility that would contribute to yielding one of the given answer options.
I would rather folks overthink a bit (on the test) and know that they know the rules, than underthink (on the field) and make a potentially gross or catastrophic error.
But I would really prefer that the statements be written in a way that eliminates ambiguity.
Maybe the silver lining is that somebody reading this thread learned something they didn't know before. If so, then it is a worthwhile discussion.
Robert
-
If clock status was the only concern, why give us options for 2/5? Given the facts in the statement, how could you possibly get to 2/5? The only way is if the down was to be repeated. How could that possibly happen? Either an error in thinking the penalty for illegal touching foul requires the down to be repeated (it does not - it carries "loss of down" in the penalty statement), or there were offsetting fouls. How could there be off-setting fouls? POSSIBLY, if the DPI was committed against an eligible receiver.
The entire point of an exam is to test our knowledge, and to avoid "thinking errors." For all any of us know, they were testing our knowledge of the "next down" element as much, if not more, than the clock status. Like you, I DOUBT that the issue of DPI and eligibility is at the heart of this quiz statement, but it IS a possibility that would contribute to yielding one of the given answer options.
I would rather folks overthink a bit (on the test) and know that they know the rules, than underthink (on the field) and make a potentially gross or catastrophic error.
But I would really prefer that the statements be written in a way that eliminates ambiguity.
Maybe the silver lining is that somebody reading this thread learned something they didn't know before. If so, then it is a worthwhile discussion.
Robert
Maybe: There are two types of illegal touching on forward passes. One does not involve a LOD.
I get what you are saying, I was trying to think of all of the game clock status scenarios for Q11: A injury + A holding or B helmet.
-
I need help with question # 2 on the NCAA PDF test version.
Team A's free kick from the A-35 is touched first by A84 at the A-43 before being recovered by B76 while grounded at the A-46. A81 is flagged for being offside. If Team B does not desire a re-kick, where would they next put the ball in play?
a. A-38
b. A-41
c. A-43
d. A-46
I answered b. Team B will accept the penalty which cancels the illegal touching and give them the ball at the A-41 after the 5yd penalty from the dead ball spot the A-46.
If they declined the penalty they could get the ball at the A-43.
-
b is correct, as is your logic.
-
Thank you for your response. I am very confused because for some reason this answer was graded as incorrect on the test.
-
The penalty for offside is 5 yards from the previous spot, not 5 yards added onto the dead ball spot.
6-1-2-c-7
7. All Team B players must be behind their restraining line [S18].
PENALTY [c6-c7]—Live-ball foul. Five yards from the previous spot [S18 or S19].
-
All fouls by the kicking team (except KCI) may be tacked on. 6.1.8
-
It must have been late, I read team A for B lol
-
#86: I don't see how the B-8 is a likely outcome. Isn't the B-1 an option too, and a more likely one? If B declines offsetting fouls due to the clean hands exception, Team A isn't forced to accept B's holding penalty. They could just decline it and take the result of the play, which is B's ball @ B-1.
Knowing that A would surely do this, B would never go this route and will instead go with the offsetting fouls. So maybe the answer is A), rekick - except that A) says "No choice for Team B," which is inaccurate, because they do have a choice, just an inferior one. Answering A) would imply that the clean hands exception doesn't apply, but it does.
-
#86: I don't see how the B-8 is a likely outcome. Isn't the B-1 an option too, and a more likely one? If B declines offsetting fouls due to the clean hands exception, Team A isn't forced to accept B's holding penalty. They could just decline it and take the result of the play, which is B's ball @ B-1.
I agree with your reasoning. I would not even give B-8 as an option to the teams.
-
For what it is worth, given the incomplete information presented in the statement, I concur that the B-1 is the most likely option that Team A would choose, if they get the opportunity.
However, this is a situation in which Team B really needs to be aware of the possible outcomes. If they understand that they may decline offsetting fouls, but, in doing so, they face the prospect of getting the ball at the B-1, or they may electing offsetting fouls and repeat the kickoff, I have a feeling they will elect offsetting fouls and repeat the kickoff. They are far likelier to have a better result with another kickoff than simply taking the ball at the B-1. Of course, time and score can greatly affect their choice. But, one thing is for certain, if Team B declines offsetting fouls, Team A will decline B's penalty as well, and force Team B to take the ball at the B-1. And, once Team B elects to decline offsetting fouls, there is no going back - no way to change their choice.
That's why the R must take his time and explain the options and outcomes to Team B. Explain B's options to them (and, like Kalle, in this case, I wouldn't even bother with the B-8 as a possible outcome - that simply won't happen), with emphasis on electing offsetting fouls, and let them make the smart choice (offsetting fouls). This takes Team A out of the decision making process (which will be the case in the vast majority of "clean hands" scenarios). Although rare for Team A to decline B's penalty, this is a scenario in which their choice is obvious, and no need to consult with them.
The crew must also advise Team B with respect to remaining game time. For example, if the clock expired during the down, declining offsetting fouls will open the door for A to decline B's penalty, thus, ending the period/half/game. That could be a greater influence on Team B's decision than field position.
Unfortunately, the full set of options are not presented as answer choices. In fact, none of the given options are totally correct. On the assumption that time & score are not a major consideration for this statement, the best answer would have been, "B, 1/10, B-1, or A, K/O, A-35 (offsetting fouls). Or, "None of the above." ;D
-
Can someone confirm the answer for #19 below. I am pretty sure the answer is C because the 10 yard penalty is declined by rule. Therefore the IT spot comes back into play. 10.2.5.a.2
19. Fourth and 10 at the B-45. A3's punt is touched first beyond the neutral zone by A85 at the B-15, but B21 picks up the kick at the B-10 and advances it to the B-20 where he fumbles. A44 recovers the fumble and carries it across B's goal line. During the kick, B36 holds A17 at the line of scrimmage.
a. A's ball, first and 10 at the B-35. Clock starts on the Referee's signal.
b. A's ball, first and 10 at the B-35. Clock starts on the snap.
c. B's ball, first and 10 at the B-15. Clock starts on the snap.
d. Six points for A. Penalty declined by rule.
-
#19 depends very much on what "declined by rule unless enforcement is made possible by illegal touching of a kick during the down" actually means in 10-2-5.a.2. Closest I've ever gotten to an understanding of it is along the lines of "if you can find an enforcement spot, then enforcement is made possible", but the relevant ARs (AR 6-3-2 III-IV) reference 5-2-4 (enforcement of foul after a change of team possession results in the ball belonging to the team in possession when the foul occurs -- in this case the foul occurs before change of team possession), which itself has an exception for 10-2-5.a.
In this case, the only possible enforcement spot would be the previous spot, as the foul is during the kick and PSK won't apply, so (B) would be the result of that enforcement. So it's either b or c, but still not sure which.
-
A.R. 6-3-2-IV (2017 book) provides the reasoning for this to be b). There is a valid enforcement spot, so that takes precedence over 10-2-5-a-2, which really applies only to situations where there is no spot to enforce the foul (c.f. 6-3-2-III).
-
A.R. 6-3-2-IV (2017 book) provides the reasoning for this to be b). There is a valid enforcement spot, so that takes precedence over 10-2-5-a-2, which really applies only to situations where there is no spot to enforce the foul (c.f. 6-3-2-III).
\
Kalle, I must confess I am as mystified by this rule as anyone, and have been since Redding put it in place around 2008 or so. But, in the AR you cited, the ruling says that the ball belongs to B, either way (by invoking the illegal touching privilege if their penalty is declined, or after enforcement of the penalty for their holding foul). Answer option b) gives the ball to Team A, so there is a disconnect there.
Very inconveniently, the AR doesn't indicate what the actual enforcement spot would be, but it 'should' be the end of the related run (B40's fumble), or the spot of the foul, if behind the end of the related run.
The AR may not be "apples to apples," since the foul in the AR is after a literal change of team possession, and, in the exam question, B's foul is during the kick, and, since by result of the down, they would not next put the ball in play, PSK doesn't apply. So, the basic spot is the previous spot. I had answer b), because Team A will not let B get the ball at the spot of illegal touching - so they will accept the penalty for B's holding foul. Enforced at the previous spot, that gives the ball to Team A, 1/10, B-35.
Regardless, I have never understood how illegal touching provides an enforcement spot. The illegal touching spot, itself, becomes an enforcement spot for a foul? That certainly is not one of the spots listed in 10-2-2, or in 2-25.
If anyone can explain this rule, and reconcile the ARs and test questions, I am a most willing student.
Robert
-
Regardless, I have never understood how illegal touching provides an enforcement spot. The illegal touching spot, itself, becomes an enforcement spot for a foul? That certainly is not one of the spots listed in 10-2-2, or in 2-25.
If anyone can explain this rule, and reconcile the ARs and test questions, I am a most willing student.
I think the two A.R.'s try to illustrate that whenever you do have a valid enforcement spot, you should enforce the foul from there. Rule 10-2-5-a-2 only applies when you don't have any spot. In A.R. II and III, the enforcement spot is the end of the related run, but in II that would be the goal line which would not make any sense, so you can't enforce the foul from anywhere, thus it is declined by rule. In III the end of the related run (the spot of the fumble) is the enforcement spot.
Why add the words "Because the illegal touching provides an enforcement spot"? I think this is to illustrate that if there is no IT, team A would want to decline the penalty anyway, so whether or not it is declined by rule is not really relevant. Simply a poor choice of words, I think.
-
I'm with Kalle. Why would something be "declined by rule"? Like if you had a regular run play for a touchdown and Team B somehow holds... like on a pull and shoot or something. Where does the Team B foul get enforced from if it's accepted? The end of the run. Well, the end of the run is in Team B's endzone and there is a touchdown, so it's literally impossible to enforce that foul, even if you wanted to! You can't possibly back up Team B anymore. Therefore, they put the rule in that that foul is declined by rule, because there's no other option.
With the kick play and the illegal touching, you can most certainly accept the foul and have an enforcement spot. So there really is no need to decline it because you actually do have a choice!
-
Note that this did change in 2008. Until 2007 I think most of us would have declined all team B fouls by rule, but in 2008 the language about the illegal touch appeared as did A.R. III.
-
#56 A 2/6 at B21, first possession series in the first OT. Score 24-24. A16 throws a pass that is intercepted by B18. During B18's return for a TD, the Side Judge runs into a Team B coach on the field just inside the sideline and drops a flag for sideline interference.
a. Team B wins 30-24.
b. Score is cancelled, penalty is declined. B 1/10 at 25 yard line.
c. Score is cancelled, penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot for the second possession series of OT.
AR 9-2-5 and AR 3-1-3-XI plus the penalty enforcement treats this as a dead ball foul. Looking for clarification on this, thanks.
-
AR 9-2-5 and AR 3-1-3-XI plus the penalty enforcement treats this as a dead ball foul. Looking for clarification on this, thanks.
I think you are right. a) should be the correct answer.
-
#56 A 2/6 at B21, first possession series in the first OT. Score 24-24. A16 throws a pass that is intercepted by B18. During B18's return for a TD, the Side Judge runs into a Team B coach on the field just inside the sideline and drops a flag for sideline interference.
a. Team B wins 30-24.
b. Score is cancelled, penalty is declined. B 1/10 at 25 yard line.
c. Score is cancelled, penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot for the second possession series of OT.
AR 9-2-5 and AR 3-1-3-XI plus the penalty enforcement treats this as a dead ball foul. Looking for clarification on this, thanks.
Correct. They get away with this one. They just need to hope they don’t cause the S to miss the score.
-
#56 A 2/6 at B21, first possession series in the first OT. Score 24-24. A16 throws a pass that is intercepted by B18. During B18's return for a TD, the Side Judge runs into a Team B coach on the field just inside the sideline and drops a flag for sideline interference.
a. Team B wins 30-24.
b. Score is cancelled, penalty is declined. B 1/10 at 25 yard line.
c. Score is cancelled, penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot for the second possession series of OT.
AR 9-2-5 and AR 3-1-3-XI plus the penalty enforcement treats this as a dead ball foul. Looking for clarification on this, thanks.
This was the play (or similar play) from USC/Utah (I think) a few years ago where they changed the score after the game was over. This was bad because the points covered and then didn't cover the spread, so I think Vegas had to pay out double.
-
I've been racking my brain and second guessing myself after looking at #4 on this year's exam. If the ball was snapped on the left hash and the DPI occurred downfield by the right hash, would the resulting enforcement of the penalty put the ball on the right hash as opposed to 15 yds from the previous spot on the left hash?
I'm guessing that since it is a spot foul up to 15 yds downfield then that would justify the change in hash but part of me still says to back to the previous spot and march off the corresponding yds on the left hash.
-
Read the penalty statement for 7-3-8-c. Your answer is in there.
-
I've been racking my brain and second guessing myself after looking at #4 on this year's exam. If the ball was snapped on the left hash and the DPI occurred downfield by the right hash, would the resulting enforcement of the penalty put the ball on the right hash as opposed to 15 yds from the previous spot on the left hash?
I'm guessing that since it is a spot foul up to 15 yds downfield then that would justify the change in hash but part of me still says to back to the previous spot and march off the corresponding yds on the left hash.
"Previous spot" means an exact dot on the field, not just the yard line. So if the foul is enforced from the previous spot, you'd stay on that hash. If it is a spot foul, you put it on the exact spot of the flag.
Makes sense?
-
"Previous spot" means an exact dot on the field, not just the yard line. So if the foul is enforced from the previous spot, you'd stay on that hash. If it is a spot foul, you put it on the exact spot of the flag.
Makes sense?
It does make sense. So because the ball was snapped at the B-16 and the foul occurred at the B-1 the ball should be placed at the B-2 and all the enforcement for DPI inside the B-17 would make the distance marched off from the previous spot. so it would be A's ball @ the B-2 from the left hash.
-
Read the penalty statement for 7-3-8-c. Your answer is in there.
That's what I was overlooking. Thanks.
-
...and all the enforcement for DPI inside the B-17 would make the distance marched off from the previous spot...
Not all DPI inside the B-17 is from the previous spot. Suppose you have a play from the B-17 on the left hash. DPI on the B-5 on the right hash. This will be a spot foul so it will be 1st down on the B-5 at the right hash.
-
Not all DPI inside the B-17 is from the previous spot. Suppose you have a play from the B-17 on the left hash. DPI on the B-5 on the right hash. This will be a spot foul so it will be 1st down on the B-5 at the right hash.
You're right. If the foul occurred inside the B-2 then it would go to the left hash. Good catch.
-
Hi all could you please share the answers of the 2018 rules test please?
found it thx
-
Does someone have an answer key they would share from the 2018 exam? I could not find it on the CFO site.
-
Does someone have an answer key they would share from the 2018 exam? I could not find it on the CFO site.
This is what I have. Hopefully they are in the same order.
1. A
2. B
3. C
4. D
5. D
6. B
7. A
8. B
9. C
10. C
11. D
12. A
13. B
14. D
15. C
16. C
17. B
18. D
19. B
20. B
21. C
22. B
23. A
24. A
25. D
26. D
27. B
28. B
29. C
30. A
31. B
32. C
33. B
34. B
35. B
36. C
37. C
38. B
39. B
40. C
41. C
42. B
43. C
44. A
45. B
46. B
47. B
48. A
49. D
50. C
51. B
52. D
53. C
54. F
55. C
56. A
57. D
58. F
59. F
60. A
61. C
62. F
63. D
64. B
65. D
66. D
67. C
68. A
69. B
70. C
71. E
72. C
73. F
74. D
75. C
76. A
77. C
78. E
79. C
80. C
81. B
82. C
83. A
84. A
85. B
86. C
87. A
88. A
89. B
90. B
91. A
92. C
93. C
94. C
95. C
96. D
97. B
98. B
99. C
100. C
-
Does anybody have the answer key or know where I can find it for the 2018 NCAA test?