RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: blindtxzebra on August 29, 2018, 06:18:11 AM

Title: AR 3-1-3-XII
Post by: blindtxzebra on August 29, 2018, 06:18:11 AM
I need some on clarification on AR 3-1-3-XII. Not with part a but part b. Were in the language does it allow 2 live ball fouls to offset yet a flagrant personal foul is still carried over? I know that B38 is stil DQed.

During the first possession series of a period, A12 throws a forward pass and Team A is flagged for an illegal shift. B25 intercepts the pass and B38 commits a flagrant personal foul before B25 crosses Team A’s goal line. Ruling: Score not allowed. The fouls cancel and the down is not repeated. B38 is disqualified and Team B begins its possession series at the 40 yard line.
Title: Re: AR 3-1-3-XII
Post by: Kalle on August 29, 2018, 06:34:49 AM
The fouls don't offset here but they do cancel, 3-1-3-g-3. I think the rules makers want the 3-1-3-g-1-exception to apply to -g-3 too, which makes sense to me, and is a valid interpretation of the current rule language, IMO.
Title: Re: AR 3-1-3-XII
Post by: DJW201 on August 29, 2018, 07:55:03 AM
I understand the logic of the AR; however, making sense of it within the existing rules depends upon how you define "cancel."  Until this point, "cancel" appeared to mean that you disregard both fouls and move on.  This new interpretation of the word is complicated by the fact that the rules for a try after a change of possession are the same, but apparently in that situation "cancel" means cancel and no penalty yardage carries over.  Question 15 on the printed CFO test dealt with essentially the same situation on a try (UNS rather than a flagrant PF), and the penalty yardage did not carry over.

Title: Re: AR 3-1-3-XII
Post by: Kalle on August 29, 2018, 08:01:54 AM
I'd really like it if the try penalty handling after a COP would be identical with overtime, but it seems that it isn't, although the language currently is...
Title: Re: AR 3-1-3-XII
Post by: bossman72 on August 29, 2018, 08:05:02 AM
The only explanation is that when there is a COP on a try or OT, conventional thinking goes out the door.  So the best explanation is "because it's OT".  haha