RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Morningrise on September 16, 2018, 11:47:38 AM
-
This chart has been approved by RR, according to the web page:
https://www.tbfoc.org/rules-mechanics/rules/fair-catch-free-kick-situations/
But I disagree on the fifth row from the bottom. If B1 gives an invalid FCS and muffs it to a teammate, I disagree that we're rewinding to the muff. Going back to the muff only happens after a valid FCS (6-5-1-b), not after an invalid FCS (6-5-3, "the ball is dead where caught or recovered"). The ball should stay where B2 catches it IMHO.
Correct or incorrect?
-
This was discussed earlier this summer. A.R. 6-5-1-I was edited for 2018 and says to place the ball where first touched by B1. This is an apparent conflict between the rules and the A.R. I posed the question to "Footballrules@NCAA.org," back in July. No response. If it happens, I'll follow the A.R., for now.
Robert
-
Also, the last item does not follow the rules. 6-4-1 Penalty (referenced in the chart) clearly requires the signal to be VALID for B to get the penalty enforced at the B-25.
Robert