RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: NVFOA_Ump on September 29, 2018, 03:23:32 PM

Title: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: NVFOA_Ump on September 29, 2018, 03:23:32 PM
3rd & 8 @ the A-40. QB back to pass and is chased toward the sideline and just before going OB at the A-35, dumps the ball forward OB.  The ball crosses the sideline at about the A37, and finally lands well beyond the NZ at the base of the stands roughly at the A-45 extended.  What do we have?
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: goodgrr on September 29, 2018, 03:28:38 PM
Nothing, he's outside the pocket and the pass crosses the neutral zone (extended), what did I miss?
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: ElvisLives on September 29, 2018, 06:02:45 PM
Nothing, he's outside the pocket and the pass crosses the neutral zone (extended), what did I miss?

Nothing.
I hope this was a question asked just to make sure we all know this.

Robert
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: NVFOA_Ump on September 30, 2018, 05:57:24 AM
Nothing missed here but a fellow official during a Friday night post game ride home was adamant that our R had missed a crunch time call and that the "spot" here was the sideline crossing point and not where the pass first touched something OB.  Just wanted a few more opinions.  He was on a wing and had a flag right at the feet of the head coach of team B.  Resulted in an unneeded explanation with the coach who offered that our wing official who had the flag was the only one who knew the rules. He wasn't happy that we waved off the flag. 
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: Kalle on September 30, 2018, 09:16:09 AM
How does your fellow wing interpret A.R. 7-3-2-XI which does not specify the spot where the ball crosses the sideline?
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: NVFOA_Ump on September 30, 2018, 09:52:42 AM
How does your fellow wing interpret A.R. 7-3-2-XI which does not specify the spot where the ball crosses the sideline?
He seems to be "unaware" of the " ...... crosses or lands beyond the neutral zone or neutral zone extended" part of the Rule 7.3.2 exception?  ???
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: goodgrr on September 30, 2018, 10:14:39 AM
a fellow official during a Friday night post game ride home was adamant that our R had missed a crunch time call and that the "spot" here was the sideline crossing point and not where the pass first touched something OB.

Looks like more rule study required plus if he felt that way he really needed to make his view known to the WH just after the play and not wait until he's changed.

Intentional grounding is a crew call.  The WH can know if the QB is out of the pocket the wings can let him know where the pass landed or if there were receivers in the area.  The WH shouldn't know the later as he should still be ensuring the QB is safe.
Title: Re: QB Dumps Ball OB
Post by: JasonTX on September 30, 2018, 08:32:40 PM
Drop a flag on a call that is mine alone to make and one might find their flag landing on top of the press box.  I will get help regarding where it lands or if a receiver is in the area, but if a flag is dropped, it is mine.   ;D