RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: NVFOA_Ump on October 02, 2018, 09:19:42 AM
-
You're the official clock operator and we have the following:
1. 1st down play ends following a 6 yard run out of bounds that stops the clock. Just before the 2nd down snap, Team B lineman makes contact with the snapper. We've got a blow & throw for encroachment. 5 yard penalty is enforced resulting in a 1st down and R makes the ball RFP and winds the clock. What do you do?
2. 1st down play ends with an incomplete pass that crosses the NZ and we have a defensive holding call for B tackling the A running back as he's coming out of the backfield. Penalty is enforced and R makes the ball RFP and winds the clock. What do you do?
-
Do I have a O2O radio? If yes, I'll ask over it if the clock really should be started. If not, I'm starting the clock and noting the time it had when it was started.
-
We've got a blow & throw for encroachment offside. 5 yard penalty is enforced resulting in a 1st down..
Just nitpicking.
-
What am I missing on question 1?
-
What am I missing on question 1?
Nothing, I think. Maybe NVOA_Ump wanted to have the R not wind the clock in that?
-
When you're the clock operator without any audio communication to the on-field crew what should you be doing when you get a start the game clock signal (wind) when you should be getting the on the snap signal (chop)?
-
When you're the clock operator without any audio communication to the on-field crew what should you be doing when you get a start the game clock signal (wind) when you should be getting the on the snap signal (chop)?
ANSWER: You do as the on-field crew instructs. If they instruct you to start the clock incorrectly, that is on them. As Kalle offered, note the time when this happened, in case you need to defend yourself. A great CO would also be noting the time every time the game clock is stopped, so, as you are trying to alert the crew via O2O (if available), you can go ahead and start the clock as instructed. Then, when/if the on-field crew recognizes their error, they can order the clock to be stopped, and have you re-set it to the last time it was stopped. They'll thank you.
But, let's back up to the first play. If the situation was less than 2 minutes remaining in the 2nd or 4th period, then, yes, the game clock should start on the snap, even after the offside with contact penalty (due to the BC out of bounds on 1st down). Otherwise, in NCAA, the game clock should correctly be started on the Referee's signal following a BC or loose ball out of bounds, irrespective of the offside penalty.
Robert
-
I've been a NCAA game clock operator since the turn of this century. It's a post that I hope to hold after my legs and knees give out and as long as I can see and flip a switch. I've found that following field commands is the best course. If the field officials have goofed and want to correct it, I will. It will be correcting their mistake, not mine.
-
But, let's back up to the first play. If the situation was less than 2 minutes remaining in the 2nd or 4th period, then, yes, the game clock should start on the snap, even after the offside with contact penalty (due to the BC out of bounds on 1st down). Otherwise, in NCAA, the game clock should correctly be started on the Referee's signal following a BC or loose ball out of bounds, irrespective of the offside penalty.
Robert
Should have been a bit clearer in the original post but I'm talking MA High School where we treat the entire period as if it's the last 2 minutes of a half for the purpose of start/stop of the game clock. I agree when I'm the R that I expect the clock to start/stop on the field officials signals but this year I've done some clocks and have noticed what I would call a lack of attentiveness regarding the clock, especially where there is a combination of things as in the 2 play situations at the start of this discussion. Without O2O comms there's no good way to fix it and it doesn't usually get noticed by the coaches until the film reviews after the game and then the clips get sent to our supervisor to follow up. But I do agree that it looks like from an informal poll of our R's and the posts here that we should just be following the field signals, make a note of the error(s), and move on.
-
ANSWER: You do as the on-field crew instructs. If they instruct you to start the clock incorrectly, that is on them. As Kalle offered, note the time when this happened, in case you need to defend yourself. A great CO would also be noting the time every time the game clock is stopped, so, as you are trying to alert the crew via O2O (if available), you can go ahead and start the clock as instructed. Then, when/if the on-field crew recognizes their error, they can order the clock to be stopped, and have you re-set it to the last time it was stopped. They'll thank you.
Robert
This is the answer. It's my first year as a GCO and our mechanics have us follow all on field crew instructions. We also note any stoppage throughout the duration of the game that should result in a dead clock until the snap in case we need to reset in situations like this.
-
You're the official clock operator and we have the following:
1. 1st down play ends following a 6 yard run out of bounds that stops the clock. Just before the 2nd down snap, Team B lineman makes contact with the snapper. We've got a blow & throw for encroachment. 5 yard penalty is enforced resulting in a 1st down and R makes the ball RFP and winds the clock. What do you do?
2. 1st down play ends with an incomplete pass that crosses the NZ and we have a defensive holding call for B tackling the A running back as he's coming out of the backfield. Penalty is enforced and R makes the ball RFP and winds the clock. What do you do?
You wind it. You do exactly what they tell you to do. You're just the "monkey in the truck" as Chris Jericho used to say.