RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Birddog on October 12, 2018, 02:55:52 PM

Title: Horse Collar
Post by: Birddog on October 12, 2018, 02:55:52 PM
In the Horse Collar rule it states that "All players are prohibited from grabbing....and immediately pulling the ball carrier down".

My question is what does "down" mean?  Completely down to the ground, or in a downward motion?  I tend to think if the downward pull causes the runners to buckle then that is enough for a foul since this is a safety issue, but others have told me I was wrong because the runner was not brought "down" by the tackle.

Title: Re: Horse Collar
Post by: BFlushR on October 12, 2018, 02:58:39 PM
By down they mean in the direction they are pulling.  Action must also include a tackle.
Title: Re: Horse Collar
Post by: TxBJ on October 12, 2018, 04:27:48 PM
By down they mean in the direction they are pulling.  Action must also include a tackle.
Incorrect. You can have HCT without a tackle and Rogers has said so on training videos.