RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: DSMitchell on September 26, 2010, 01:41:21 AM
-
Please help me on this one:
Is the ball declared dead once it hits the upright and does not pass thru for a score?
Cheers
DSM
-
Yes. Since the goal posts are out of bounds the ball is declared dead after striking an upright (or cross bar) at the point where it's no longer possible for it to pass thru them, or said differently, the ball is dead by rule after striking the upright when it then touches anything else that would prevent it from going thru the goal posts untouched.
Per 4.1.3.a: Ball Declared Dead
ARTICLE 3. A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle or declare it dead:
a. When it goes out of bounds other than a kick that scores a field goal after touching the uprights or crossbar, when a ball carrier is out of bounds, or when a ball carrier is so held that his forward progress is stopped. When in question, the ball is dead (A.R. 4-2-1-II).
-
Cheers mate
Darrin
-
C'mon man...everyone knows it is dead when it hits the upright!!! >:D
[yt=425,350]WYoYD7gSnXI[/yt]
-
pi1eOn OUCH!
-
Looks like this crew didnt know the RULES . What state was this ??? ??? ??? ^no ^no ^no
-
Looks like this crew didnt know the RULES . What state was this ??? ??? ??? ^no ^no ^no
Brilliant statement. About as brilliant as the crew. It was in Texas.
-
Wow, and you thought coaches didn't know the rules!
-
Mike,
You sure were skinny back then >:D
-
As well as green and ignorant!!!
-
Darrin B & C
-
Had this same thing in pee-wee a couple weeks back. Team tried for extra point, bounced off upright and I blew it dead when the linebacker caught it. Coach was livid.
-
Great video scene! Did they really award the TD??? Unbelievable.
Please keep in mind that the ball doesn't become dead immediately when it touches the upright. If it touches the post and passes through it's a score. But if the ball bounces back into the field and touches something then it's over.
-
"Dead" or not, I know one back judge who blows the loudest whistle you have ever heard if he sees the ball hit an upright or the crossbar.
-
Darrin B & C
There goes half a point from the get go. Was too focused on just confirming if it was dead or not forgot about the postion of the ball after the play.
-
If you had seen last years Brownie you would have been aware that the quiz master likes that type of Q.
-
This one could have gone the other way ;D
[yt=425,350]u1aS5h7sH70[/yt]
or: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u1aS5h7sH70
-
Yep but he should have been on the whistle as soon as he saw it hit the upright.
-
4 bounces. That will probably never happen again. I had one once that I know I'll never see again. Ball hits the left upright, bounces down and hits the crossbar, and then bounces up and hits the right upright and goes through. It hit all three of them.
-
Only one official at the goal post? Is this a Fed mechanic?
-
From that distance, yes, only the BJ is at the goal post. He can easily move from one upright to the other to rule. I believe kicks outside the 25 (LOS) are handled that way. Been 13 years since I've had any Fed experience, but I believe thats the correct mechanic in that situation.
best regards,
Brad
-
Yep but he should have been on the whistle as soon as he saw it hit the upright.
By rule: no. You can't score with a dead ball. And the ball is not dead by rule.
But I understand that blowing the whistle might prevent any action on the field. Therefore it might be helpful to use it in some situations, but if you had done it in the video and the ball would have gone behind the crossbar - then no score...
-
By rule: no. You can't score with a dead ball. And the ball is not dead by rule.
But I understand that blowing the whistle might prevent any action on the field. Therefore it might be helpful to use it in some situations, but if you had done it in the video and the ball would have gone behind the crossbar - then no score...
I doubt that any supervisor would downgrade an official for blowing the whistle when the ball first hits the goal post and allowing any subsequent score. The ball is effectively dead and it can only score after hitting the goal post.
Hmm, although I guess it would be possible for a team B player to leap over the crossbar and catch the ball after it bounces and before it scores...
-
Hmm, although I guess it would be possible for a team B player to leap over the crossbar and catch the ball after it bounces and before it scores...
No - impossible - if they where that tall they would be playing basketball
-
By rule: no. You can't score with a dead ball. And the ball is not dead by rule.
But I understand that blowing the whistle might prevent any action on the field. Therefore it might be helpful to use it in some situations, but if you had done it in the video and the ball would have gone behind the crossbar - then no score...
That would be an over leagalistic interpretation of the rule. Whistle blows and if it still goes through iot is a score. Don't be that nit picky
-
No - impossible - if they where that tall they would be playing basketball
There are A.R.'s with this happening so it must be possible! :)