RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: GoGoGo on November 15, 2010, 06:22:44 AM
-
1- The first quarter has about 35 seconds left. The offense runs a dive play and gets tackled inbounds with 5 seconds left on the clock. During the play the offense was flagged for illeglal shift. The penalty is accepted so we mark off 5 yards and wind the clock on the RFP whistle and the first quarter ends before they get the play off.
Do you give them an untimed down?
2- The first quarter has about 35 seconds left. The offense runs a dive play and gets tackled inbounds with 5 seconds left on the clock. During the play the offense was flagged for illeglal shift. The penalty is declined so we wind the clock on the RFP whistle and the first quarter ends before they get the play off.
Do you give them an untimed down?
3- Does it matter which quarter this occurs.
Fed rules.
-
1 - Extend the period, since there was an accepted penalty during the last timed down of the period.
2 - The period is not extended, since the penalty was not accepted.
3 - Timing rules apply to all periods.
-
3-3-3a: A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last
timed down of the period, one of the following occurred:
a. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted, except for
those fouls listed in 3-3-4b.
-
Even though there was 5 seconds on the clock was the play ended.
When does a down begin?
-
The down begins with the snap, so if there was an accepted penalty and the clock started on the RFP AND time expires before they can snap the ball, then they get an untimed down.
-
Yes got it hEaDbAnG
-
3.3.3 SITUATION B: Near the end of the third period, it is third and 4 for A from
B’s 48-yard line. A1 advances to B’s 45 and during the run there is holding by B1.
The penalty is accepted. At the end of the down there are three seconds remaining
in the period. Because the penalty was the only reason for the clock to be
stopped, it is started with the ready-for-play signal and the period ends before A
snaps the ball. RULING: A is entitled to an untimed down because it accepted the
penalty for a foul which occurred during the last timed down of the period.
Therefore, the period must be extended with an untimed down in this situation
even though time remained and A had a chance to snap the ball before it expired.
(3-3-3a)
-
In these type situations it's important to expand the penalty options explanation to include the timing ramifications, such as, "if you accept the penalty, the clock will start on the RFP and if they fail to get a play off before time expires, they will be entitled to an untimed down. If you decline the penalty, the clock starts on the RFP and if they fail to get a play off before time expires, the period is over". I would make sure Captains of both teams understand that.
-
Good suggestion
-
I would make sure Captains of both teams understand that.
The wings should make sure the coaches know this before acceptance or declination!