RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: ck4597 on December 20, 2010, 01:44:03 PM

Title: okay or not
Post by: ck4597 on December 20, 2010, 01:44:03 PM
Any prob with this play?

http://rivals.yahoo.com/highschool/blog/prep_rally/post/Amazing-quot-Dead-Man-quot-trick-play-touchdow?urn=highschool-298207
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: Grant - AR on December 20, 2010, 02:14:35 PM
There is a pretty good discussion in the NCAA section about this play.  The link is here:

http://www.refstripes.com/forum/index.php?topic=7593.0
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: Atlanta Blue on December 20, 2010, 02:18:07 PM
Grant was about 10 seconds ahead of my same post!
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: Curious on December 20, 2010, 04:54:17 PM
Well I'm still unclear about the the NCAA ruling here; but one thing is for sure: this is illegal formation everywhere else in the country except for Texas (where this game was played) and Massachusetts.  I believe those are the only States who still play HS games under NCAA rules.

Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: bama_stripes on December 21, 2010, 10:58:45 AM
There are several problems with this under NFHS rules:

(1)  The wide-out at the top of the screen doesn't have his shoulders parallel to his LOS, and thus is not legally a lineman.

(2)  The slot receiver (#8) doesn't come to an "absolute stop and remain stationary without movement of hands, feet, head or body for at least one second before the snap".  (2-7-6)

(3)  #8 has his mouthpiece dangling from his helmet.
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: Curious on December 21, 2010, 02:16:03 PM
There are several problems with this under NFHS rules:

(3)  #8 has his mouthpiece dangling from his helmet.

Bama!  MOUTHPIECE!!!!????  Say it ain't so....
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: bama_stripes on December 22, 2010, 07:57:46 AM
Bama!  MOUTHPIECE!!!!????  Say it ain't so....

'Tis so.

In our area, if we see a player not wearing his mouthpiece at the snap, we shut it down & penalize them.

YMMV.
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: AlUpstateNY on December 22, 2010, 01:30:50 PM
'Tis so.

In our area, if we see a player not wearing his mouthpiece at the snap, we shut it down & penalize them.

YMMV.

Is there anyone who does differently, assuming you've exhausted attempts to call everyone's attention to the value of chin straps?
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: jjseikel on December 26, 2010, 07:29:23 PM
Illegal Formation.

"Hey fella, bring 'er back."
Title: Re: okay or not
Post by: VALJ on December 29, 2010, 12:04:26 PM
Is there anyone who does differently, assuming you've exhausted attempts to call everyone's attention to the value of chin straps?

I don't know that we'd shut it down in this situation, since we can't be sure that a snap is imminent.  But we can sure flag him for not having the mouthpiece in during the down.  We'll try and shut it down presnap if we can, though.

(And the first penalty I ever had to signal as a WH was for a lineman having his mouthpiece out just before the snap.  My U threw that one.  When he came and reported it to me, I looked at him and said "Damn, Willie - couldn't you let me have an easy one as my first penalty?  I can't have a hold, or an encroachment - I have to figure this one out first?"  :) )