RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: RickKY on January 06, 2011, 01:11:25 PM

Title: Orange Bowl Safety
Post by: RickKY on January 06, 2011, 01:11:25 PM
Why is this not a horse collar tackle by B91?

[yt=425,350]yIr2KOyGr4Y&[/yt]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIr2KOyGr4Y&feature=related
Title: Re: Orange Bowl Safety
Post by: jg-me on January 06, 2011, 01:16:57 PM
Runner/potential passer never left tackle box.
Title: Re: Orange Bowl Safety
Post by: RedTD on January 06, 2011, 01:20:35 PM
What gj-me said and it was not an "immediate pulling" of the jersey opening.
Title: Re: Orange Bowl Safety
Post by: Atlanta Blue on January 06, 2011, 01:46:13 PM
Don't know why the R threw a flag, there was no foul by #53.  Reaction instead of thinking.

But what in the world was #53 doing back there anyway?

And yes, his catch was also reaction instead of thinking.  Obviously, it would have been a lot smarter to let that ball fall to the ground.
Title: Re: Orange Bowl Safety
Post by: With_Two_Flakes on January 06, 2011, 01:55:55 PM
9-1-2-p last sentence...
This does not apply to a ball carrier, including a potential passer, who is inside the tackle box.

R flagged it as he saw a pass caught by an ineligible numbered player (#53). He wasn't to know what had caused that ball to come back to #53, it might've bounced off a Team A player. He was told by the U that the ball was touched by a Team B player thus making all players (including #53) eligible. Indeed his excellent announcement said exactly that. Amazingly the TV talking heads got it right (before the announcement).
Title: Re: Orange Bowl Safety
Post by: RickKY on January 07, 2011, 07:07:56 AM
I was not sure how the HC rule differed from NFHS.  Thanks for clarifying it.