RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => General Discussion => Topic started by: bossman72 on January 26, 2011, 12:49:25 PM

Title: Voice Immodulation Disorder
Post by: bossman72 on January 26, 2011, 12:49:25 PM
Same guy in these two videos?

http://vimeo.com/1913104

[yt=425,350]27u9D4Kqp-A[/yt]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27u9D4Kqp-A&feature=related

This guy here may have a severe case of Voice Immodulation Disorder.  haha   ;D
Title: Re: Voice Immodulation Disorder
Post by: Grant - AR on January 26, 2011, 02:41:10 PM
Check the Youtube link again.  I think we are missing a little bit of the address.
Title: Re: Voice Immodulation Disorder
Post by: bossman72 on January 26, 2011, 03:17:47 PM
Check the Youtube link again.  I think we are missing a little bit of the address.

Fixed
Title: Re: Voice Immodulation Disorder
Post by: LarryW60 on January 28, 2011, 08:44:40 AM
I do have to say I didn't notice the false start on the wide receiver.  He doesn't appear to duck down and push off until the ball is being snapped.  The official on the far side was probably queried on that one after the game by his bosses.
Title: Re: Voice Immodulation Disorder
Post by: 110 on January 30, 2011, 07:34:40 AM
I do have to say I didn't notice the false start on the wide receiver.  He doesn't appear to duck down and push off until the ball is being snapped.  The official on the far side was probably queried on that one after the game by his bosses.

Maybe I'm used to Canoodian rules, where all hell breaks loose, but that's tight.

Question, though: in my memory of NFHS rules, that's an offensive encroachment and the play is shut down.

In Canadian rules, we'd call something akin to that as an offside.

Should this have been a) shut down or b) called offside?
Title: Re: Voice Immodulation Disorder
Post by: LarryW60 on January 31, 2011, 12:12:06 PM
It was shut down.  If you listen to the audio, you can hear the whistles as the ball is thrown and you see the back judge stopping the clock in the end zone instead of ringing it up.  I definitely didn't see a false start, but maybe the guy was lined up in the neutral zone and the wing gave him up until the snap to correct himself.