RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: TXMike on August 27, 2011, 09:24:08 PM
-
May be the toughest call R's have to make...forward pass or fumble?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGSkmIegE0E (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGSkmIegE0E)
-
Yes, very difficult. After watching replays, I'd go with incomplete pass. In real time, I don't know...
-
slo mo suggests incomplete. live action first look, it's more of a coin flip.
it seems that on the "bang bang" play of this variety, when the ball comes out forward, it's usually called incomplete. (which can be a tough break for the defender when he's the one knocking it forward.)
-
With the last view from the R's angle I'd go with incomplete. No cheap turnovers, you know.
-
To me it seems the QB is on the three and the ball hits the ground on the four. Anytime a pass is parallel or ahead, I consider the pass to be on the side of incomplete.
-
To me it seems the QB is on the three and the ball hits the ground on the four. Anytime a pass is parallel or ahead, I consider the pass to be on the side of incomplete.
Even if the pass were to go backwards, it would still be an incomplete forward pass. By rule, if a passer arm is moving forward and there is contact to him that causes the ball to travel backwards, it is still an incomplete forward pass.
-
Even if the pass were to go backwards, it would still be an incomplete forward pass. By rule, if a passer arm is moving forward and there is contact to him that causes the ball to travel backwards, it is still an incomplete forward pass.
Jason has the correct call, although a real tough one in full speed real time, in slo-mo pretty clear that the arm is moving forward before the ball comes out so it's an incomplete forward pass.
-
You have to ask yourself, is the forward motion of the passer intentional or not. If the forward motion is due to the hit, fumble.
-
I think I've been told...When in doubt, it is forward. The R went to the side to get some help (does that mean he was in doubt?). I think I'd have incomplete in this situation.
-
Jason's right: that bothered me more than whether they ruled the rest right.
When a Team A player is holding the ball to pass it forward toward the neutral zone, any intentional forward movement of his hand or arm starts the forward pass. If a Team B player contacts the passer or ball after f orward movement begins and the ball leaves the passer’s hand, a forward pass is ruled regardless of where the ball strikes the ground or a player (A.R. 2-19- 2-I).