RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: ftalerico on September 20, 2011, 03:14:15 PM

Title: roughing the snapper
Post by: ftalerico on September 20, 2011, 03:14:15 PM
Is there any NF rules basis to call a foul when the snapper gets hit and the QB is 7 yards deep to receive the snap?
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: SanDiegoStryker on September 20, 2011, 03:23:14 PM
No. For the roughing the snapper the offense has to be in scrimmage kick formation. To be in scrimmage kick formation they have to have a holder 7 yd back and a kicker 3 yd behind him or they have to have a kicker 10 yd back.
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: NWA_UMP on September 20, 2011, 04:42:16 PM
Think Punt and Extra Point Try...
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: bama_stripes on September 20, 2011, 04:52:39 PM
(Suppresses urge to mention the late, non-lamented Offense That Shall Not Be Named)
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: TampaSteve on September 21, 2011, 07:12:50 AM
Is there any NF rules basis to call a foul when the snapper gets hit and the QB is 7 yards deep to receive the snap?
...and even if A is in formation where snapper is protected, he's only protected from "direct contact", NOT any contact.  Thus, B is free/clear to rush the A-gap.
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: mbyron on September 21, 2011, 07:21:56 AM
...and even if A is in formation where snapper is protected, he's only protected from "direct contact", NOT any contact.  Thus, B is free/clear to rush the A-gap.

Yep. How many times do we hear JV coaches shouting "they touched my center!"
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: TampaSteve on September 21, 2011, 07:57:01 AM
Yep. How many times do we hear JV coaches shouting "they touched my center!"
...or JV centers who stay down for the whole play...thinking they're protected as long as they are down.
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: RickKY on September 21, 2011, 09:12:51 AM
The definition of snapper includes the following...
...the snapper remains a snapper until he has had a reasonable opportunity to regain his balance and protect himself...

If he has that opportunity and does not take it, he may be contacted.  Although, if he has his head down and a defender roughly contacts him, it would not be roughing the snapper, but it could be a personal foul unnecessary roughness.  Use wise judgement in this case.
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: SBEII on September 25, 2011, 12:28:21 AM
What if...........K is in punt formation with the punter 10+ yards behind the center. Umpire does the norm and informs defense that the center has protection.

Now.....the ball is snapped........the nose guard blows up the center. Umpire throws the flag.  But wait.....the ball was snapped to the up man who was only 3 yards deep and he thros a pass for a 1st down on the fake punt.

What do you have????  Wave off the flag???? Tack it on to the end of the run???
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: ckref on September 25, 2011, 08:15:03 AM
Snapper is still protected based on the formation.  Foul occurred during loose ball (forward pass) play.  Enforce at previous spot, if that is more advantageous to A than the result of the play.
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: Atlanta Blue on September 25, 2011, 08:28:57 AM
What do you have????  Wave off the flag???? Tack it on to the end of the run???

ckref gave you the right answer, it's still RTS.

But why do we "tack on" an RTP penalty (enforced from the dead ball spot if beyond the LOS), but not a roughing penalty on a snapper?

I know, the RTP penalty is an exception, but my question is why the exception for one and not the other?
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: Curious on September 25, 2011, 08:57:21 AM
ckref gave you the right answer, it's still RTS.

But why do we "tack on" an RTP penalty (enforced from the dead ball spot if beyond the LOS), but not a roughing penalty on a snapper?

I know, the RTP penalty is an exception, but my question is why the exception for one and not the other?

Good question/suggestion....take care of that with the rules committee will you AB.  They don't seem to pay attention to officials!
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: HLinNC on September 25, 2011, 09:15:25 AM
Quote
I know, the RTP penalty is an exception, but my question is why the exception for one and not the other?

Good question AB.  My only thought is the coaches have pushed the rules committee to protect their precious QB's but really don't give a rat's rear end about your kicker, holder, and snapper >:D
Title: Re: roughing the snapper
Post by: bama_stripes on September 26, 2011, 07:32:12 AM
ckref gave you the right answer, it's still RTS.

But why do we "tack on" an RTP penalty (enforced from the dead ball spot if beyond the LOS), but not a roughing penalty on a snapper?

I know, the RTP penalty is an exception, but my question is why the exception for one and not the other?

I think it's because it's such a rare occurance that the RC didn't feel a special enforcement was warranted.  Almost every RTS foul is going to be enforced from the previous spot.