RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => General Discussion => Topic started by: bossman72 on September 20, 2011, 03:57:10 PM
-
This will probably be the same ruling under NFHS and NCAA (except for yardage difference in the foul). This got me thinking of how this play is potentially messed up if you think about it.
4/12 @ A33. Punter A15 muffs the snapp and the ball is bounding on the ground away from him when he kicks the loose ball. The ball lands at the B25 where gunner A88 picks up the ball and stands there. The B then sounds his whistle.
-
That's a heck of a kick off the ground!
If you're thinking IW, penalty acceptance negates that, and B will always accept the penalty in this case.
-
NCAA:
Yup, if you want to have an IW this is pretty much the best situation for it. B's ball after a 10 yard distance penalty from whereever A15 kicked the ball (or half the distance, obviously, if inside A-20).
If you are stupid enough to ask an option from team B and if they happen to decline (which they obviously won't), team A then has the option of taking the result of the play, which they will, 1st and 10 for team A at B-25.
-
For NFHS, the penalty is 15 yards.
-
NCAA:
Yup, if you want to have an IW this is pretty much the best situation for it. B's ball after a 10 yard distance penalty from whereever A15 kicked the ball (or half the distance, obviously, if inside A-20).
Speaking NCAA: Just for clarity, it will be B's ball because the penalty for illegally kicking the ball in this situation is 10 yards + LOD.
-
Speaking NCAA: Just for clarity, it will be B's ball because the penalty for illegally kicking the ball in this situation is 10 yards + LOD.
Yup, that's what Kalle said.
-
Yup, that's what Kalle said.
Well, I didn't spell out the LOD part, so Welpe's clarification was a good one, IMO.