RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => General Discussion => Topic started by: haywood on September 21, 2011, 11:19:29 PM
-
can the snapper be an end
lets say he is the only A player 1-49 or 80-99
and the wr51 is off the line
-
Yes. You see this normally on "swinging gate" formations on the Try. He has an eligible number and is on the end of the line makes him an eligible receiver.
-
Agree: this is one reason that under NFHS rules he's referred to as a 'snapper' and not a 'center'. Provided he's eligible at the snap by both position and number, he's an eligible receiver throughout the down.
-
The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).
what's this mean
if the snappers between the end he's not the end
i'm confused look'n for clarity
rule 7 states
ART. 5 . . . Player formation and numbering requirements include:
EXCEPTIONS:
1. On first, second or third down, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation as in 2-14-2a, the snapper may be a player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99. If Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shall have at least four players wearing numbers 50 to 79 on its line of scrimmage. The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).
2. On fourth down or during a kick try, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation, any A player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99 may take the position of any A player numbered 50 to 79. A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).
-
The snapper does not have to be in the game under the numbering exception if A has 5 other players on the line wearing ineligible numbers. In that case, the snapper may be on the end of the line.
-
The wording above is what was written to close the loophole that allowed the A-11 offense.
In the definitions, 2-14-2 describes the two possible scrimmage kick formations.
(a) for a FG or kick try formation
(b) for a punt formation
Then rule 7-2-5b gives the numbering rule (5 linemen 50-79) with the allowed exceptions:
1. only for the snapper on 1st, 2nd or 3rd down and only in the 2-14-2a (field goal) formation.
2. on 4th down or during a kick try - either type of scrimmage kick formation - any number of eligible numbered players can replace any 50-79, but remain ineligible even if a shift puts them on the end of the line at the snap.
Exception 2 would be when the snapper could be eligible by position and number.
Or as said above when there are 5 linemen 50-79 so that the snapper is not an exception to the numbering rule and is on the end of the line with an eligible number at the snap.
The other consideration is the snapper getting protection when in scrimmage kick formation that complies with 2-14-2a or b. In the swinging gate, if holder isn't down and kicker in position, no protection as provided by 9-4-6
-
what was written to close the loophole that allowed the A-11 offense.
>:( It is correct to say "the offense that shall not be named".
And I'm not sure that russell is ready to digest that just yet.
-
>:( It is correct to say "the offense that shall not be named".
And I'm not sure that russell is ready to digest that just yet.
We could create a filter that automatically changes "A-11" to "the offense that shall not be named." Would that work? :D
-
Ooops, saw that terminology on another thread after posting on this one.