RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: FrankNFHS on September 23, 2011, 02:24:43 PM
-
When a player lined up in the backfield goes in motion and moves towards the line of scrimmage before the snap, is this similar to false start or encroachment in that you kill the play (illegal motion) or do you throw a flag but let the play continue?
We had some difference of opinion...the good news is that we didn't get grief from anyone but we want to get it right.
-
Do NOT kill the play for this forward motion. Suppose the player stops for a full second? Or suppose he changes direction and moves latterally along the line?
It's not a foul to move forward, it's a foul to be moving forward when the ball is snapped. If the player can cure his "error" before the snap, then he has to have that chance.
That being said, there is a difference between moving forward at the snap, and moving forward SIMULATING the snap. The latter foul is a false start and shuts down the play.
-
Short answer - it depends.
If his movement simulates action at the snap, false start. Shut it down. If his movement does not simulate action at the snap, but is towards his opponents goal line AT THE SNAP, illegal motion. Let it play out.
You have to use your judgment here. When in doubt, I tend to let it play out.
Don't want to take a turnover opportunity away from the defense.
-
Short answer - it depends.
If his movement simulates action at the snap, false start. Shut it down. If his movement does not simulate action at the snap, but is towards his opponents goal line AT THE SNAP, illegal motion. Let it play out.
You have to use your judgment here. When in doubt, I tend to let it play out.
Don't want to take a turnover opportunity away from the defense.
This is the way we (in Michigan) have been told to interpret the play. In the past, 99% of the time we would have called this illegal motion....
-
So a back can go forward toward the opponents goal line until right before the snap and then he can level off and go parallel to the opponents GL?
-
Yup, and I am sure you have seen it. Picture a back lined up 6 yards of the line who takes a step forward than goes parallel to the line. Legal.
-
but if he gets on the line( intersects center's waist) he must stop and set with shoulders parallel to th eopponents goal line. Right?
-
but if he gets on the line( intersects center's waist) he must stop and set with shoulders parallel to th eopponents goal line. Right?
Yeah, that would meet the requirements the rule (2-32-9). The troubling one is when the motion man achieves neither lineman nor back status - which puts him in "no-man's land" - and we have (technically) an illegal formation foul. It a hard one for the offensive coach to understand....