RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => General Discussion => Topic started by: trixx32 on September 23, 2011, 04:41:35 PM
-
Here is a situation that happened to me at a game. I was the LJ on a 5 men crew.
QB rolls to the left (my side) being persued by the defense. Then QB throws a pass (not a pretty one) that hangs in the air for a while. The WR adjusts to the pass and dives for the ball (he's comming from the left hash).He catches the ball in the air and hits the pylon with his helmet as he goes to the ground. The ball clearly went over the goal line. I gave the signal that he was good on my side and the BJ gave the TD signal. The HL, after the game, told me that because the WR was airborne and because he hit the pylon with the helmet, he was actually out of bounds. Please comment.......It would be kind of ackward explaining this to a coach, don't you think???.....keep officiating, even after the ball is dead.....greetings from Mexico!!!
-
Ola....
Had the same play a few years ago; and your Linesman is correct.
If I understand your play correctly, the receiver's first contact after possessing the ball while in the air was with the pylon - which, by rule, and if properly placed, is out of bounds behind the goal line. Therefore, the receiver has not completed the catch by returning to the ground in bounds (Rule 2-4-1).
And, yes, the coach of the offense - who happened to be on my sideline - was not too thrilled.
-
Yep. He's as out of bounds as if he had landed first with a foot on the sideline in the end zone. Incomplete pass.
-
NFHS, I vote for out of bounds. Crossing the plane with ball out of bounds works if a foot is inbounds.