RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bugolathe on September 24, 2011, 11:14:26 PM
-
Question from high school official. ??? Does a free kick have to touch the ground along with go ten yards to be live for the kicking team to recover it?
-
No. Team A may catch the kick after it has gone 10 yards as long as they don't interfere with Team B's oppurtunity to catch the kick.
-
Also remember that Team B can call a fair catch if the kick has not yet touched the ground.
-
I know this question was asked on the NCAA board, but the asking official is from Kansas. Not sure if he asking about FED or NCAA rules.
In FED rules, yes, the kick must both touch the ground AND go 10 yards before the kicking team can recover it (unless it is touched by R). These two things can happen in either order. If K touches the ball before it hits the ground, it is Kick Catching Interference. If it hits the ground but has not gone 10 yards, it's First Touching.
Jason and NVFOA Ump gave you the correct answer for NCAA rules, but this rule is different in FED.
-
Thanks guys. I was watching the Oregon/Arizona game last night and just before half Arizona kicked off after a score and the kicker hit a about a 15 yd. bloop that never touched the ground and an Arizona player caught it. I thought I'd better check and it turns out the crew got it right. tiphat:
I've only used NFHS rules and some NFL rules with semi-pro work.
-
Thanks guys. I was watching the Oregon/Arizona game last night and just before half Arizona kicked off after a score and the kicker hit a about a 15 yd. bloop that never touched the ground and an Arizona player caught it. I thought I'd better check and it turns out the crew got it right. tiphat:
I've only used NFHS rules and some NFL rules with semi-pro work.
I saw this play attempted in a HS game in the Ohio state tournament last year. The officials were on it: the U flagged KCI, and R took an awarded fair catch at the spot. I was an observer and gave 'em props for that one!