RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Aussie-Zebra on September 26, 2011, 09:09:59 AM

Title: Punt kick question
Post by: Aussie-Zebra on September 26, 2011, 09:09:59 AM
A recent question I posed
Quote
If a punt is touched by the receiving team then recovered by the kicking team can it be advanced and who's ball is it?

rule 6-3-3 says all players are eligible after Team R touches the ball beyond the NZ. Can Team K advance the ball ?

R 6-3-3
Quote
All Become Eligible
ARTICLE 3. When a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone touches
a player of the receiving team who is inbounds, any player may catch or recover
the ball (Rule 6-3-1-b)
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: clearwall on September 26, 2011, 09:21:17 AM
Doesnt it matter where B touched the ball? If it's behind the NZ, i dont think A can advance it if it crosses the NZ. If B touches it BEYOND the NZ, then yes, A can advance it. Also, if B touches it behind the NZ and it does not cross the NZ, A can advance it there as well.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Aussie-Zebra on September 26, 2011, 09:23:14 AM
sorry - yes its beyond the NZ

Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: BankerRef on September 26, 2011, 09:32:37 AM
The kicking team cannot advance a scrimmage kick that has crossed the NZ if they gain possession.  The status of the ball does not change when it is "touched" by the receiving team; it is still a kick.  K can recover the touched ball and be awarded a new set of downs but not advance.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: clearwall on September 26, 2011, 09:38:41 AM
The kicking team cannot advance a scrimmage kick that has crossed the NZ if they gain possession.  The status of the ball does not change when it is "touched" by the receiving team; it is still a kick.  K can recover the touched ball and be awarded a new set of downs but not advance.

You're right, i misread the part where he said ADVANCE it. I read it as in they could recover. 6-3-1 states that regardless of how it is there, if a ball does not cross the NZ, anyone can recover and advance. 6-3-3 says that once it crosses the NZ, only B can recover and advance unless B touches and A recovers.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: brownie on September 26, 2011, 08:57:25 PM
Isn't it 6-3-6 that covers this question?

6-3-6a states "If a player of the kicking team catches or recovers a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone, the ball becomes dead " so that eliminates any option to advance the ball as it's dead.

6-3-3 covers off that as it's touched by a player on the receiving team the player on the kicking team is eligible to legally recover the ball.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: James on September 27, 2011, 01:40:17 AM
Then there is the point that helps to confuse the fans (but not us!) that the kick can be recovered but not advanced, but if the R has control of the ball and fumbles the kick is over and the ball can now be advanced again.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Aussie-Zebra on September 27, 2011, 07:15:31 AM
It would simplify things if they added this to the end of Rule 6-3-3

All Become Eligible
ARTICLE 3. When a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone touches
a player of the receiving team who is inbounds, any player may catch or recover
the ball BUT ONLY TEAM R CAN ADVANCE THE BALL
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Diablo on September 27, 2011, 10:42:24 AM
It would simplify things if they added this to the end of Rule 6-3-3

All Become Eligible
ARTICLE 3. When a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone touches
a player of the receiving team who is inbounds, any player may catch or recover
the ball BUT ONLY TEAM R CAN ADVANCE THE BALL


Albeit a bit off, your proposed addition is covered by 4-1-3-e. 
Besides, there ain't no "Team R" in NCAA.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Aussie-Zebra on September 27, 2011, 11:56:02 PM
Off  ? please explain

I don't see how 4-1-3-e covers this situation ie) if the ball is touched by team B initially
Quote
e. When a player of the kicking team catches or recovers any free kick or a
scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone.

it pretty much says the same thing as 6-3-6

Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Kalle on September 28, 2011, 02:53:25 AM
Off  ? please explain

I don't see how 4-1-3-e covers this situation ie) if the ball is touched by team B initially
it pretty much says the same thing as 6-3-6

Note that it does not say "catches or recovers any free kick or a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone and is untouched by team B beyond the neutral zone". It applies to all scrimmage kicks that have crossed the neutral zone, touched or untouched by team B anywhere.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Aussie-Zebra on September 29, 2011, 01:48:05 AM
Thanks Kalle for clearing that up.
Title: Re: Punt kick question
Post by: Kalle on September 29, 2011, 04:02:02 AM
Thanks Kalle for clearing that up.

You're welcome, it's not like the NCAA rule book is known for its clarity...