RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Morningrise on September 26, 2011, 01:55:07 PM
-
4th and 10 at the A-30. A4's punt is short. B33 makes a fair catch signal at the A-45, but the kick bounces at the A-34. B33, expecting his teammate to return the kick, runs up and blocks an opponent at the A-35. But B99 merely muffs the ball, and A77 recovers the kick at the A-36. Ruling?
The penalty for rule 6-5-4, prohibiting blocking by players making a fair catch signal, states:
"PENALTY—Free kick: Receiving team’s ball 15 yards from the spot of the foul [S40]. Scrimmage kick: 15 yards, postscrimmage kick enforcement [S40]."
What happens to that "postscrimmage kick enforcement" if Team A legally recovers the kick? Can we enforce this from the previous spot?
As for free kicks, compare this penalty statement to the (more fully stated) one for illegal wedge formation. Of course, on a free kick recovered by A, it's tough to think of a time when A would accept the penalty at all. Maybe some bizarre case where they recovered their own kickoff in their own end zone?
-
The basic spot on kicks is the previous spot. PSK would not apply since team A is in legal possession.
-
Since R/B muffed the punt beyond the LOS and K/A recovered it, wouldn't A/K just decline the penalty for an illegal block and take the ball at the spot of recovery - 1st and 10?
-
Since R/B muffed the punt beyond the LOS and K/A recovered it, wouldn't A/K just decline the penalty for an illegal block and take the ball at the spot of recovery - 1st and 10?
They obviously could, but the penalty from the previous spot is more advantageous. 1st and 10 for team A at A-45. Had it been 4th and 20, team A probably would decline.
-
They obviously could, but the penalty from the previous spot is more advantageous. 1st and 10 for team A at A-45. Had it been 4th and 20, team A probably would decline.
Oh crap! I completely missed the line to gain issue. Thinking B's 36.....
Duh!