RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: NewRef10 on October 02, 2011, 01:51:03 PM
-
Looking for a bit of clarification on this enforcement. I wasn't officiating the game, I was simply in the stands watching (class 2 in ohio, must wait).
It's 4th and 9 from Ks 27.... K is in scrimmage kick formation... ball is snapped over the head of K35... ball rolls into Ks endzone about 5 yards deep where K35 then kicks the ball out of the back of the end zone. After K35 kicked the ball out of the endzone, R81 hit K35 late. So the officials called safety, illegal batting on K35, and then a dead ball personal foul on R81. They awarded R with 2 points and had K kickoff from the K30.
is this enforcement correct?
-
No. F/K should have been from the K-35
-
There is no yardage penalty assessed for the penalty. The awarding of the safety is the end of that penalty.
Only the DB PF is marked off from the 20. As Tom said, kick from the 35.
-
There is no yardage penalty assessed for the illegal batting. The awarding of the safety is the end of that penalty.
So would you tell R that if you want the 2 points, decline the illegal batting?
-
So would you tell R that if you want the 2 points, decline the illegal batting?
It makes no difference. The foul was committed by team A/K in their own end zone. Decline or accept the penalty, the result of the play is the same...a safety.
-
thanks for the clarification :)
-
So would you tell R that if you want the 2 points, decline the illegal batting?
FB already gave the correct ruling, but just to spell it out for a novice and fellow Ohioan: A caused the ball to go into the end zone, where it subsequently became dead: independent of A's foul, the result of the play is a safety.
The penalty for a foul committed in the end zone is a safety. So if B accepts the penalty it's a safety; if they decline the penalty, the result of the play is a safety. Were I white hat, I wouldn't even ask, as the explanation of why they don't have any options would take too long.
The dead-ball foul by B is a separate issue. Since A will kick off after the safety, B's penalty will be enforced 15 yards from the 20, and the free kick should be from the A35 yard line, as Tom said.
A final teeny technicality: since the down that resulted in the safety did not have a legal kick, we don't refer to the teams as K/R, but as A/B (2-43-3). Keep up the good work!
-
A couple of things to remember about fouls which, by rule, result in a safety:
1. Rule 3-3-4b tells us that if the foul occurs during the last timed down of a period, the period is NOT extended
2. If they occur during the last timed down of the 1st or 3rd periods, the the 2nd/4th periods will start with a free kick; but if they occur during the last timed down of the 2nd or 4th periods, there will be NO free kick following a safety (Case Book 3.3.3A)
-
where K35 then kicks the ball out of the back of the end zone.
If that's the case, why would they have called Illegal BATTING? Batting is striking the ball with a hand or arm. This would be Illegal Kicking, although they are nearly the same signal.
Doesn't change the outcome at all.