RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: TXMike on October 07, 2011, 05:01:38 AM
-
...uhhhhhh...I don't think so men.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BvSEf06Nmw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BvSEf06Nmw)
-
Looks like he had possession at about the eight or nine yard line so yes, they gave team A a couple of yards. Fortunately team A didn't carry the ball across the goal line...
-
Odds they would have ^good, very high.....
-
I think the L bailed out the B (somewhat). He seemed to know it could not be advanced and had a spot further upfield than where the B went to. He may not have the exact spot but since he was running from the line of scrimmage to get down there, it is understandable
-
Interesting - he's got possession at the 9, runs to about the three, and the ball gets spotted at the 6. As Mike notes, the B gets bailed out a bit half-way, so someone on the crew knew the advance can't happen, but how can the B not know that a kick can't be advanced by team A? That's a basic rule.
Also, with our mechanics, we always bag the spot of any possession (A or B) at the end of a scrimmage kick as it could be an enforcement spot or the subsequent spot. If the B had done that, we would have the correct spot.
-
I don't know if the B had a brain fart here or didn't know the rule but unfortunately I've run into too many varsity officials that don't realize A can't advance a kick.
-
I know for myself in those situations, even though I know the rule, I always hesitate a few counts to make sure it's still a kick and not a fumble. I still get it shut down fairly quickly and always have the spot of recovery in mind.
Best regards,
Brad
-
SAT - Why would an umpire be down there covering this???? >:D
-
the most recent instance was a poor punt that almost took my head off. It was a line drive, low that hit an A lineman and landed just behind me and bounced off a B player. A picked up the muff and proceeded to run for the EZ. (I am about 10 yards back on punts).
Best regards,
Brad