RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Ump62 on October 09, 2011, 04:27:22 PM
-
During the Texas / OU game the LJ flagged the defense for Offside. Replay showed the defensive lineman "flinch" his leg. He never came out of his stance and never entered the NZ. The Team A tackle reacted to this movement and came out of his stance. Does anyone have any insight into the Big 12 philosophy about this play? I remember a Big 12 official stating that the defender did NOT have to be in the NZ for this to be flagged. This seems to be in contrast to the rule and the ARs. This play is similar to 2a in the AR.
7-1-5-a-2
No player may enter the neutral zone causing an offensive lineman to
react immediately or commit any other dead-ball offside foul (Rules
2-18-2 and 7-1-2-b-3-Exception) (A.R. 7-1-3-V and A.R. 7-1-5-III).
AR 7-1-3-V
A66, a restricted lineman between the snapper and the player on the
end of the line, or A72, a restricted player on the end of the line of
scrimmage:
1. Lifts a hand or hands from the ground immediately when threatened
by B1, who is in the neutral zone. RULING: Blow the whistle
immediately. Team B dead-ball foul, offside. Penalty—Five yards
from the succeeding spot.
2. Lifts a hand or hands from the ground upon initial charge by B1, who
(a) does not enter the neutral zone or (b) enters the neutral zone but
does not threaten the position of A66 or A72. RULING: In both (a)
and (b), blow the whistle immediately. Team A dead ball foul, false
start. Penalty—Five yards from the succeeding spot.
-
the play:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kti0Yvj4f1M (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kti0Yvj4f1M)
-
As his 'flinch' had him move forward I'd suggest it falls under this
7.1.5.a4 Player(s) aligned in a stationary position within one yard of the line of
scrimmage may not make quick or abrupt actions that are not part of
normal defensive player movement (A.R. 7-1-5-IV).
in the AR it doesn't state if B1 is lined up within 1 yard so I would assume he isn't
-
That is not the intent of that rule . The defender simply momentarily anticipated the snap count
-
ok so even if considered quick or abrupt as anticipating the snap count is part of
normal defensive player movement it should have been no flag.
-
I've watched that video about 10x now. Wasn't even close to the NZ. False start on OU.
-
I disagree that he's not close to the NZ. The DE is lined up right on the ball crowding the NZ. If his forward movement puts him in the NZ, then the RT (who's protected) moves, then DOF.
It's tight, but that is certainly a possibility.
-
If you listen to the referee his explaination is that the line judge ruled him in the neutral zone. The camera angle does not allow us to see down the line. Would have liked to see the Texas sideline response.
-
it was typical Mack... :!#
-
Looks to me like he's lined up in the NZ - put the ball down flat - he's over it.
-
Would have liked to see the Texas sideline response.
Watch the video...
-
My bad. Did not see the game and did not stay with the video. ???