RefStripes.com

Football Officiating => NCAA Discussion => Topic started by: Welpe on October 18, 2011, 05:17:35 PM

Title: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: Welpe on October 18, 2011, 05:17:35 PM
You make the call:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddAIAK81LIk
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: GoodScout on October 18, 2011, 05:25:39 PM
Looks like a good call by the LJ and deep judge on a bang-bang play. Had one foot it with possession after kick had traveled 10 yards and been grounded.
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: TXMike on October 18, 2011, 05:39:59 PM
Looks like he did not get possession until his feet were in the air and he next came down OOB so free kick OOB.  Tack on 5 yards from OOB spot (35) and it is 1st and 10 for B at the 40.


Why were they kicking from the 35?
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: Atlanta Blue on October 18, 2011, 06:12:26 PM
Looks like a good call by the LJ and deep judge on a bang-bang play. Had one foot it with possession after kick had traveled 10 yards and been grounded.

That's not what they ruled, Good Scout.  They said he was OOB before gaining possession.
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: NVFOA_Ump on October 18, 2011, 06:36:13 PM
Why were they kicking from the 35?

The announcer notes this was already a re-kick from a previous free kick where there was a penalty.
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: GoodScout on October 18, 2011, 08:58:28 PM
Sorry, thought I was in the HS forum. I have him with possession with his first foot in, which in HS is all it takes.
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: El Macman on October 19, 2011, 02:18:34 AM
Sorry, thought I was in the HS forum. I have him with possession with his first foot in, which in HS is all it takes.

But watch the ball as he lands OB. It moves, meaning he wasn't able to hold it firmly throughout the recovery process; thus, no recovery, which makes it a free kick out of bounds, untouched by the receiving team. So, the result of the play is B's ball at the out of bounds spot. And, there is a foul for an illegal kick OB, and the 5-yd penalty may be enforced at the previous spot or added to the spot where the dead ball belongs to B (the latter being the most likely choice).
Absolutely not A's ball in any way.
Title: Re: Free Kick Play (video)
Post by: mishatx on October 19, 2011, 08:29:55 AM
It moves, but I dunno: it looks to me like both hands are firmly on the ball, and the movement you see is just the shifting of his right arm as his elbow hits the ground.