RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: cbrunnjo on October 19, 2011, 06:45:01 PM
-
If a team tries a fake FG on 3rd down and throws an incomplete pass do they get the ball back for fourth down?
Where is this covered in the Rule Book?
-
Of course they do. It's covered by the fact you have 4 downs to make the yard to gain line. ^no
-
Now that was funny. pi1eOn
I was looking for something specific in the rule book or case book.
nAnA
-
Read 5-1-3
-
If a team tries a fake FG on 3rd down and throws an incomplete pass do they get the ball back for fourth down? Where is this covered in the Rule Book?
As far as the rule book is concerned, there's no such thing as a fake FGA. It makes no difference what Team A tries to do unless they kick the ball. THen it becomes an actual FGA. If they don't kick the ball on 3rd down and retain the ball, they get another try on 4th down.
-
The only way K can lose possession is if they lose the ball to R because it's 3rd down. Let's say there's a bad snap and the K player is tackled short of the line to gain. Simply call it the same as any other 3rd down play. But of the ball is kicked then it will be R's ball only if R doesn't muff the kick and K regains possession.
-
But if the ball is kicked then it will be R's ball only if R doesn't muff the kick and K regains possession.
False. If the kick is blocked or K otherwise recovers the kick behind the NZ, K may advance the ball and achieve a new series by reaching the LTG.
-
If they don't kick the ball on 3rd down and retain the ball, they get another try on 4th down.
This is the reason you will see teams try FGs on 3rd down near the end of the game or in OT. If they botch the snap or hold, they still have another down to try it again.
-
Quote from: blandis on Today at 12:08:38 AM
But if the ball is kicked then it will be R's ball only if R doesn't muff the kick and K regains possession.
False. If the kick is blocked or K otherwise recovers the kick behind the NZ, K may advance the ball and achieve a new series by reaching the LTG.
If the kick is blocked and a simultaneous recovery occurs, then R gets possession.
-
And, if the kick happens on 3rd down, and R blocks it, but K recovers the ball behnd the line and DOESN'T reach the line to gain, it's 4th down, K's ball.