RefStripes.com
Football Officiating => National Federation Discussion => Topic started by: golfingref on October 21, 2011, 11:29:53 PM
-
I am convinced that as long as he is eligible by position, (on the end of the line), and by number, (1-49 or 80-99), he can be. Am I missing something? How would the numbering exception affect it?
-
Yes, as long as he is an end.
-
Yes, as long as he is an end.
Careful....See 7-2-5b EXC 1: There ARE distinct situations (1st, 2nd, and 3rd downs) when the snapper with an "eligible" number must, by rule, be between the ends and remains ineligible. So, depending on the numbering of his teammates on the line, if the snapper were on the end of the line (regardless of his number), you could have an illegal formation; or if a pass were thrown, ineligible downfield/illegal touching/or OPI....
Didn't we just see a thread on this not long ago?
-
That exception is why I am looking for clarification. My understanding is this: On field goal and extra point attempts, if the snapper is eligible by number and position, and there are at least 5 other lineman with numbers 50-79, it should be OK. Am I correct in my understanding? Here is an example of the formation in which I believe the snapper (#80) should be an eligible receiver:
88 51 52 53 54 55 80
22 24
20
10
-
Yes, you have a "muddle huddle" or swinging gate formation here, and yes, the snapper (#80) is eligible because he is an end and an eligible number.
If it's 4th down or a try, he would be eligible even if they were not 5 players 50-79. The only time an eligible number snapper is restricted from being an end is if it is 1st, 2nd or 3rd down and he is in the game under the numbering exception.
-
That exception is why I am looking for clarification. My understanding is this: On field goal and extra point attempts, if the snapper is eligible by number and position, and there are at least 5 other lineman with numbers 50-79, it should be OK. Am I correct in my understanding? Here is an example of the formation in which I believe the snapper (#80) should be an eligible receiver:
88 51 52 53 54 55 80
22 24
20
10
Yep! This looks legal on any down as the kickers have met the numbering requirements and the snapper is NOT in the game under the numbering exception.
-
Thanks for the replys!
-
That was the point of my answer. Just because he's the snapper doesn't necessarily render him ineligible.
-
Ruling 7-2-5
ART. 5 . . . Player formation and numbering requirements include:
a. At the snap, at least seven A players shall be on their line of scrimmage.
b. At the snap, at least five A players on their line of scrimmage must be numbered 50 to 79.
EXCEPTIONS:
1. On first, second or third down, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation as in 2-14-2a, the snapper may be a player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99. If Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shall have at least four players wearing numbers 50 to 79 on its line of scrimmage. The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).
I believe this says that that if the snapper is in under the numbering exception he is ineligible receiver.
-
I believe this says that that if the snapper is in under the numbering exception he is ineligible receiver.
In the example by golfingref the snapper is not in under the numbering exception. The team has the required five players on the line numbered 50 to 79.
-
gotcha!
-
I believe this says that that if the snapper is in under the numbering exception he is ineligible receiver.
If he is in under the numbering exception on 1st, 2nd or 3rd downs, he will be ineligible, because he cannot legally be an end.
That restriction does not exist on 4th down or try numbering exceptions.
-
That restriction does not exist on 4th down or try numbering exceptions.
It's my understanding that a snapper, wearing an eligible number on the end of the line, would be eligible to receive a forward pass, under any circumstances. However, if that snapper wears an ineligible number (50-79), whether or not it's necessary to meet the normal line formation requirements, he would not be eligible, despite snapping from a position on the end of the line, under any circumstances.
-
It's my understanding that a snapper, wearing an eligible number on the end of the line, would be eligible to receive a forward pass, under any circumstances. However, if that snapper wears an ineligible number (50-79), whether or not it's necessary to meet the normal line formation requirements, he would not be eligible, despite snapping from a position on the end of the line, under any circumstances.
You're saying that the eligibility criteria (number and position) are identical for every player, including the snapper.
-
It's my understanding that a snapper, wearing an eligible number on the end of the line, would be eligible to receive a forward pass, under any circumstances.
Yes, if you are on the end and wearing an eligible number you are always an eligible receiver. There is still the rule that you have to five players numbered 50-79 though. If you don't, it doesn't mean you have an ineligible receiver, it means you have illegal numbering.
However, if that snapper wears an ineligible number (50-79), whether or not it's necessary to meet the normal line formation requirements, he would not be eligible, despite snapping from a position on the end of the line, under any circumstances.
Yes, someone wearing an ineligible number can never catch a pass.
The numbering exception never makes an 50-79 eligible. It makes 1-49 or 80-99 ineligible.
-
You're saying that the eligibility criteria (number and position) are identical for every player, including the snapper.
It's not that I'm "saying it", it's that NF: 7-5-6-a is "saying it" that counts.